Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Very buttery, which can cause issues with grease and upset stomach. But otherwise, it's amazing and we love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
My husband, son-in-law and grandson loved this dish. We all love Indian food and this was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
The best butter chicken recipe I've ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I only wished I had naan to serve with it! I didn't feel like venturing out in the rain to get some, but that's the only thing I can think of that would've made this recipe better! I subbed 2% milk for the half-and-half and used chicken breast. For the ginger-garlic paste, I simply made my own with my knife and garlic press. I can only imagine how much more developed the flavors will become by tomorrow evening when we eat the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This came out wonderful! I really like indian and decided to give it a try at home so went with this meal. I am pleasantly surprised how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This was so good! I skipped the water and the starch at the end of the recipe, I felt like it already had great taste and consistency and worried about watering it down. You choose how spicy you want this to be, if you want lots of chili powder or just a little bit. Super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Best Authentic Butter Chicken I've ever made at home! Easy Peasy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Byce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Fabulous recipe. I've made it at least 3 times. I substitute onions for shallots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I've made this many times - we all love it! Lately we've been eating healthier so this time I made a few changes. I didn't use any butter - I used a 7 oz container of fat free greek yogurt & the juice of a whole lemon. I also added 1/2 cup low sodium chicken broth instead of cream. It was even better & tangier than the full fat version! I didn't use cornstarch and it was very thick & creamy. I also added chopped fresh baby spinach for color. Will make it this way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Rainess Jordan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Very good, but needed a little fresh cilatro stirred in at the end. Also, as another reviewer mentioned, sauce is thick enough but if you wanted to add the water and a thickener, go with ground cashews. I like my Indian dishes fairly hot, so I increased the cayenne and I also added an additional tsp of Garam Masala to intensify the flavor. All in all, a very nice recipe that I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond Hill, New York, USA
Living In: Lake Ronkonkoma, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 750) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States