Chicken Lo Mein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I had a craving for Chinese restaurant-style Lo Mein, and after reading the 12 or so different variations on here, this one is as good as any (the process is mostly the same for all). I followed this recipe, but with these changes: I marinated the chicken overnight, used real Oriental Lo Mein noodles, and since I don't like mushrooms; I substituted other veggies- sliced onion, carrots, green peppers, water chestnuts, spring sprouts, and snow peas. (Hey) add what you like. Sure it was a combo of chicken & veggie Lo Mein , but wow, was it good. Used the base sauce here, and as others suggested- skipped the cup of water, and added a TBL of both Hoisin sauce & Oyster sauce (again- make it to your taste). All those Oriental flavors of sesame, ginger, garlic, Hoisin & Oyster sauce + the flavorful chicken & crisp veggies is like a party in your mouth. Don't be afraid to make a variation that suits you or your family's likes or dislikes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Way too salty. Next time, I will use the low sodium soy sauce and use less overall. That said, it was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Holy soy sauce! Thats all I tasted was the soy sauce. The only reason I gave it as many stars as I did was because if the soy sauce was halved I think it would have potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arinbotter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This recipe turned out to be better than what I expected!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This was a lot of work and no one really cared for it. Too much ginger flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Made this with angel hair spaghetti, and button mushrooms, because that's what we had. Everything else was fresh, and we followed the recipe. Cured my husbands craving for Chinese, but he said definitely not restaurant quality. Will make again and try oyster sauce like others recommended, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Sylacauga, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I am a huge lo mein fan and researched several before trying your receipe. This was also the only one that added sugar which unfortunatly for me, did not work well. I did not add the second time I made it and was much happier without it. ALSO, I am fortunate in being able to buy authentic lo mein noodles from an asian supermarket. They make a huge difference in this receipe if you can get them, otherwise I would use angel hair or the thinnest you can find. I added oyster sauce and in addition to the green onions, some very thin sliced white onions as well. It was pretty good and you'll just need to tweek it to find your own personal tastes. Thanks though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Grooms

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
VERY salty. I think the basic recipe is wonderful and tasted really good. Just WAY too salty. I'm thinking half the soy sauce (1/4 cup total) would be just fine. I also halved the amount of sesame oil (because it is very strong and can be hot) and it tasted really good. Here are the changes I made: -I didn't have fresh garlic (used 1/2 tsp garlic powder) -Spaghetti noodles (about 5 servings dry) instead of linguine -Didn't have fresh ginger (used 1/4 tsp ground ginger) -3 tablespoons corn starch instead of 2 -1/2 tablespoon sesame oil (instead of 1) -Left out the mushrooms because we don't like them and the onions and used 2 carrots chopped thinly instead. I thought the sauciness was just right (I hate it when things are dry). I can't wait to try it again with half the soy sauce because I think it will be awesome. Would be good with some bean sprouts in it and peas too if you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I used chow mein noodles and substituted bean sprouts and some sliced tofu for the mushrooms. I did add the oyster sauce and added 2 full cups of chicken broth and no water. The flavor and texture of the sauce was very good, but wow - it was WAY too salty!! I could not even eat the chicken that was marinated in the soy sauce! I will make this again, but I think I will have to half the soy sauce and only use one cup of chicken broth in attempt to cut down the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Great recipe and not too difficult!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States