Chicken Lo Mein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Made this with angel hair spaghetti, and button mushrooms, because that's what we had. Everything else was fresh, and we followed the recipe. Cured my husbands craving for Chinese, but he said definitely not restaurant quality. Will make again and try oyster sauce like others recommended, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Sylacauga, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I am a huge lo mein fan and researched several before trying your receipe. This was also the only one that added sugar which unfortunatly for me, did not work well. I did not add the second time I made it and was much happier without it. ALSO, I am fortunate in being able to buy authentic lo mein noodles from an asian supermarket. They make a huge difference in this receipe if you can get them, otherwise I would use angel hair or the thinnest you can find. I added oyster sauce and in addition to the green onions, some very thin sliced white onions as well. It was pretty good and you'll just need to tweek it to find your own personal tastes. Thanks though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Grooms

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
VERY salty. I think the basic recipe is wonderful and tasted really good. Just WAY too salty. I'm thinking half the soy sauce (1/4 cup total) would be just fine. I also halved the amount of sesame oil (because it is very strong and can be hot) and it tasted really good. Here are the changes I made: -I didn't have fresh garlic (used 1/2 tsp garlic powder) -Spaghetti noodles (about 5 servings dry) instead of linguine -Didn't have fresh ginger (used 1/4 tsp ground ginger) -3 tablespoons corn starch instead of 2 -1/2 tablespoon sesame oil (instead of 1) -Left out the mushrooms because we don't like them and the onions and used 2 carrots chopped thinly instead. I thought the sauciness was just right (I hate it when things are dry). I can't wait to try it again with half the soy sauce because I think it will be awesome. Would be good with some bean sprouts in it and peas too if you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I used chow mein noodles and substituted bean sprouts and some sliced tofu for the mushrooms. I did add the oyster sauce and added 2 full cups of chicken broth and no water. The flavor and texture of the sauce was very good, but wow - it was WAY too salty!! I could not even eat the chicken that was marinated in the soy sauce! I will make this again, but I think I will have to half the soy sauce and only use one cup of chicken broth in attempt to cut down the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Great recipe and not too difficult!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This is very yummy but it is very salty. I think next time I won't marinate the chicken because there is enough salt in the sauce and enough sauce to give the chicken flavor. I also only used 1 cup chicken broth and no water. The sauce was perfect and thick. I also added snow peas, mushrooms and portabello mushrooms. Instead of regular noodles I used ramen noodles (as someone else suggested) and they were wonderful! I will definantly make this again! It is so yummy and I will definantly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
My boyfriend recently found out he loves chicken lo mein after trying it last weekend. So I tried this recipe and he loves mine better. I did a few alternates and don't measure much. I didn't use rice wine vinegar, linguine, mushrooms, cornstarch, or sugar. Instead i added in their place: hoisin sauce, ramen noodles, broccoli, cauliflower, mixed peppers, flour, and honey. It was delicioso, muy muy delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
My husband thought it was delicious. I, personally, tasted too much vinegar so wasn't able to eat much. I will try it again and use less rice vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I keep looking for something that tastes as good as take out - this is not it - the search continues!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Tasted good, not greasy, but a bit too much sauce. I will have to make less sauce next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States