Chicken Lo Mein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I used chow mein noodles and substituted bean sprouts and some sliced tofu for the mushrooms. I did add the oyster sauce and added 2 full cups of chicken broth and no water. The flavor and texture of the sauce was very good, but wow - it was WAY too salty!! I could not even eat the chicken that was marinated in the soy sauce! I will make this again, but I think I will have to half the soy sauce and only use one cup of chicken broth in attempt to cut down the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Great recipe and not too difficult!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This is very yummy but it is very salty. I think next time I won't marinate the chicken because there is enough salt in the sauce and enough sauce to give the chicken flavor. I also only used 1 cup chicken broth and no water. The sauce was perfect and thick. I also added snow peas, mushrooms and portabello mushrooms. Instead of regular noodles I used ramen noodles (as someone else suggested) and they were wonderful! I will definantly make this again! It is so yummy and I will definantly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
My boyfriend recently found out he loves chicken lo mein after trying it last weekend. So I tried this recipe and he loves mine better. I did a few alternates and don't measure much. I didn't use rice wine vinegar, linguine, mushrooms, cornstarch, or sugar. Instead i added in their place: hoisin sauce, ramen noodles, broccoli, cauliflower, mixed peppers, flour, and honey. It was delicioso, muy muy delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
My husband thought it was delicious. I, personally, tasted too much vinegar so wasn't able to eat much. I will try it again and use less rice vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I keep looking for something that tastes as good as take out - this is not it - the search continues!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Tasted good, not greasy, but a bit too much sauce. I will have to make less sauce next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Tasted more like stir-fry than lo mein. Very watery, too much soy sauce and sugar for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
this was ok.....a little sweet and def needed more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This recipe was super easy to make and had a lot of flavor to it. The only differences I made when making it was because I don't like mushrooms, I replaced it with a few cups of broccoli and a cup of baby corn. I will probably use a little more baby corn next time too because it gave it a good crunch and soaked up the juices really well adding flavor. I added the broccoli and corn to the chicken and stir fried all of that together and it was AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States