Chicken Lo Mein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
The key to the great flavor in this dish is to use high quality fresh ingredients. If you use powdered ginger, cheap soy sauce and pre-minced garlic it just won't have the great taste it should. The only change I made was to used 1/3 cup of soy sauce instead of 1/2 because I was using a very high quality soy sauce. I made this for my family and it was greatly enjoyed by everyone including my 8 year old daughter and husband. I have added this to my recipe box and will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Whenever I need a simple recipe for a new dish I want to make, I come to Allrecipes or Food. This time, I used both. I wanted to use chicken broth, but I knew it would take me too long to reduce the mixture, so I used Chicken bouillon instead and made the mix quite a bit thicker. I used about 7 lbs of sugar snap peas, 6 cans of stir-fry vegetables (Kroger brand), 40 lbs of pre-cooked/sliced white checken, and about 1/3 of a cup of MSG. I also added Oyster sauce. As I understand it, Oyster sauce adds that special je ne sais quoi to a Chinese dish of this nature. It took me 4 hours (a little longer than I expected- but not by much) to make the 120 servings I needed, but when I was finished I was extremely pleased and so was my entire church. (By the way, I cooked this alone, with no help whatsoever, by choice. So, it can be done!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melourn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doraville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This one took a while, but it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This was a good dish, but not like restaurant lo mein. I added some carrots, broccoli and cabbage to it. We will be happy to finish the leftovers for lunch, but will keep looking for a recipe that taste more like what we get at the restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Pretty good, has a good flavor. Thought it needed a little extra sugar, and possibly a little salt. Also added a couple extra tbs of soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I actually made an account to talk about how salty this recipe is. I though "Oh man this has so many good reviews." And I followed this recipe to a T and cannot tell you how salty this was due to ALL the soy sauce it called for. I gave it two stars because you're able to work around a bit to make it tasty to your liking, but I doubt I'll try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Good base recipe. Needs a little more "oomph". Next time, I will add more vegetables and maybe a splash of fish or oyster sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Excellent! Chicken is very moist and tender. The sauce mixture has a wonderful flavor. I did add 4 oz snow peas and 1 red bell pepper (julienned). My wife couldn't stop raving about this meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red Jelly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This was good as is, but definitely needs something added to it. The flavor doesn't seem to quite be there. I would add a couple of different vegetables next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States