Chicken Lo Mein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This was good as is, but definitely needs something added to it. The flavor doesn't seem to quite be there. I would add a couple of different vegetables next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This turned out great. I used peanut oil instead of vegetable oil, added a little Chinese Five Spice powder, 2 heaping tablespoons of oyster sauce, and a fair amount of veggies (yellow bell pepper, broccoli, snow peas, and water chestnuts). I did not scale down the amount of liquid and it worked out well with all of the extra veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEREADER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
The kids really like it, but I thought it was lacking really robust flavor. I didn't add mushroom due to requests... It was good, but nothing outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
The best fried noodle in the world!! I marinated chicken for 24 hours. I don't like vineger so I didn't use it. Still very very delicious!! I grated ginger and garlic. That's better for me. Thank you Ms. Meesh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by afrosama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
We thought this was delicious! It really didn't taste like lo mein, but great nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
It's good, but it's absolutely nothing like the lo mein from Chinese restaurants. For starters, the noodles and up being much too soft. With a different type of noodle, this would be a better recipe. I followed the recipe exactly, then added a few of my own extras to it (baby corn, shredded carrots, peas, and oyster sauce), yet the end product... well, in a blind taste test, I'd probably say it's closer to Italian food than Chinese. (again, I blame the noodles for that).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
My family loved this dish. It is a lot of work but I thought it was well worth the time and easier on the budget then ordering out. I did make a few changes after reading the reviews. I added 2 tble spoons of oyster sauce, used a bag of stir-fry veggies and no mushrooms(my son hates mushrooms), low carb spaghetti noodles, reduced the soy sauce by half, double the liquid ingredience and corn starch. Over all with the changes it was very tasty. I will make again and try it with the Lo Mein noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Perfect. Better than restaurant quality. Only had regular mushrooms available. It worked out. Add chinese peas, 2 tble spoons of oyster sauce, can of water chestnut, guyanese chow mein noodles, add a bit teryaki madness, and a few drops of hot pepper sauce. Probably one of the hardest things I ever cooked. Next time try garnishing it with cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gavin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
As it sounds like other reviewers also think, this is a good starting place for chicken lo mein, but it is not quite there yet.... I followed the recipe pretty much exactly, with the exception of reducing the soy sauce, per reviewers suggestions, and I added a tablespoon of hoisin sauce. My gripes with this are that the sauce is far too runny - perhaps cutting the liquid in half but keeping the same proportions of flavor bases would do the trick. Also, I love ginger, but the flavor of the ginger in this was too overpowering - none of the other flavors could get through. I used Chinese egg noodles, but would recommend angel hair over linguine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alison.allen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mahtomedi, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States