Chicken Lo Mein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
We just bought our first wok and decided to try this as our first recipe. We are new to cooking and were a little apprehensive. The recipe is SUPER easy to follow and it turned out awesome!! We did not add mushrooms because we couldn't find the right ones but it still turned out very good! Serving size was a little off. We used three chicken breasts and a pound of linguine (one whole package) which fed two adults and a teenage boy.... and was about one serving left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I'm giving this 5 stars even though I changed it a little because the flavor was fantastic! It did not taste artificial or over-flavored. I was on the fence with the choice of linguine but it came out delicious. **My changes were: I used 1 Tablespoon Ginger, 1/8 tsp granulated garlic (instead of minced), omitted the water (too much liquid), Did not use mushrooms and used sliced bok choy, shredded carrots, snow peas, sliced celery with the green onions instead. *** Also the recipe calls for a lot of chicken, so if I used 2 breasts sliced super thin and cut them about an inch long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I slightly modified the recipe, adding some veggies, about a tablespoon of hoisin sauce, and another table spoon of spicy brown bean sauce. All three of my boys devoured it!! It's not often we get three out of three in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Good basic recipe. HOWEVER, unless you have an industrial grade stove and wok you will never be able to obtain the incredible heat achieved in Chinese restaurants. The underlying flavor that will always be missing in homemade Chinese food is an essential smokiness. At the risk of being called a heretic, my trick is to give the wok a scant wipe with liquid smoke. And I mean scant! The difference is amazing and usually leaves people envious of the taste of my stir fry dishes including lo mein. And dont chintz on the toasted sesame oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Very easy to make and tasty..I sub Baby Bella for the mushrooms and it still tastes amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
The key to the great flavor in this dish is to use high quality fresh ingredients. If you use powdered ginger, cheap soy sauce and pre-minced garlic it just won't have the great taste it should. The only change I made was to used 1/3 cup of soy sauce instead of 1/2 because I was using a very high quality soy sauce. I made this for my family and it was greatly enjoyed by everyone including my 8 year old daughter and husband. I have added this to my recipe box and will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Whenever I need a simple recipe for a new dish I want to make, I come to Allrecipes or Food. This time, I used both. I wanted to use chicken broth, but I knew it would take me too long to reduce the mixture, so I used Chicken bouillon instead and made the mix quite a bit thicker. I used about 7 lbs of sugar snap peas, 6 cans of stir-fry vegetables (Kroger brand), 40 lbs of pre-cooked/sliced white checken, and about 1/3 of a cup of MSG. I also added Oyster sauce. As I understand it, Oyster sauce adds that special je ne sais quoi to a Chinese dish of this nature. It took me 4 hours (a little longer than I expected- but not by much) to make the 120 servings I needed, but when I was finished I was extremely pleased and so was my entire church. (By the way, I cooked this alone, with no help whatsoever, by choice. So, it can be done!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melourn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doraville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This one took a while, but it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This was a good dish, but not like restaurant lo mein. I added some carrots, broccoli and cabbage to it. We will be happy to finish the leftovers for lunch, but will keep looking for a recipe that taste more like what we get at the restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maribel Hicks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Pretty good, has a good flavor. Thought it needed a little extra sugar, and possibly a little salt. Also added a couple extra tbs of soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States