Chicken Lo Mein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
It's pretty good but very time consuming. The chicken marinade worked wonderfully. The recipe was easy to follow and the sauce came out well (and it helped to have it prepped from early on.) I added some broccoli and egg to it because I wanted to clean out my fridge. I would recommend making the recipe and would make it again myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I just tried this tonight, and I really liked it. The ginger was a bit overpowering for me, so I might reduce the amount I use next time. My fiance loved it even more. He wolfed down two and a half bowls before I could finish one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Like most others, I made some changes to simplify the recipe. I did use ramen noodles and would recommend that others do the same. In addition, I used boneless, skinless chicken thigh meat and just added a little chicken bouillon to the cooked chicken juice as opposed to adding broth or water. I mixed a little cornstarch with with just a bit of water and the sauce thickened quickly and nicely. I threw in a can of rinsed bean sprouts (Polar brand is far superior to LaChoy in my opinion) and I used 1 frozen ginger cube and 1 frozen garlic cube in addition to the Mirin and soy sauce which I just threw in to taste. Left out the mushrooms--personal preference, but used a lot of green onion--would have added matchstick carrots if I'd had them on hand. Everyone in my large family loved the flavor--tasted like local Chinese restaurant lo mein to us. Added some sri ra cha on mine and WOW! We will definitely be making this again. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Very good. I will tweak it a tad, try some oyster sauce, little less ginger to suit my taste...but all in all...very good. . Even my daughter who doesn't like Chinese food liked it. Definitely try it if you're not sure..it' good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
We just bought our first wok and decided to try this as our first recipe. We are new to cooking and were a little apprehensive. The recipe is SUPER easy to follow and it turned out awesome!! We did not add mushrooms because we couldn't find the right ones but it still turned out very good! Serving size was a little off. We used three chicken breasts and a pound of linguine (one whole package) which fed two adults and a teenage boy.... and was about one serving left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I'm giving this 5 stars even though I changed it a little because the flavor was fantastic! It did not taste artificial or over-flavored. I was on the fence with the choice of linguine but it came out delicious. **My changes were: I used 1 Tablespoon Ginger, 1/8 tsp granulated garlic (instead of minced), omitted the water (too much liquid), Did not use mushrooms and used sliced bok choy, shredded carrots, snow peas, sliced celery with the green onions instead. *** Also the recipe calls for a lot of chicken, so if I used 2 breasts sliced super thin and cut them about an inch long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I slightly modified the recipe, adding some veggies, about a tablespoon of hoisin sauce, and another table spoon of spicy brown bean sauce. All three of my boys devoured it!! It's not often we get three out of three in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Good basic recipe. HOWEVER, unless you have an industrial grade stove and wok you will never be able to obtain the incredible heat achieved in Chinese restaurants. The underlying flavor that will always be missing in homemade Chinese food is an essential smokiness. At the risk of being called a heretic, my trick is to give the wok a scant wipe with liquid smoke. And I mean scant! The difference is amazing and usually leaves people envious of the taste of my stir fry dishes including lo mein. And dont chintz on the toasted sesame oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Very easy to make and tasty..I sub Baby Bella for the mushrooms and it still tastes amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
The key to the great flavor in this dish is to use high quality fresh ingredients. If you use powdered ginger, cheap soy sauce and pre-minced garlic it just won't have the great taste it should. The only change I made was to used 1/3 cup of soy sauce instead of 1/2 because I was using a very high quality soy sauce. I made this for my family and it was greatly enjoyed by everyone including my 8 year old daughter and husband. I have added this to my recipe box and will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States