Chicken Lo Mein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This was quite good! We halved the ginger, because I thought it would be too strong, and I tossed in a bag of frozen stir fry veggies and extra green onions. I think it would have been lacking without that. We served over linguine and topped with crunchy chow mein noodles. the only 2 things I would do would be to try adding oyster sauce (at the recommendation of other raters) and use low sodium soy sauce, because it was too salty. With these tweaks, I would definitely make this again sometime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I made this two weekends ago. Oh my its delicious. I will get order this from Chinese take out again. This was 10x's better then any restaraunt I have ever been to. I did not use the sugar I replaced it with honey and used 3 to 4 teaspoons. I used low sodium soy sauce. No water I just used 2 cups chicken broth. I also used all olive oil and regular white distilled vinegar. I do not like ginger so I left it out and doubled the garlic. I also added red & yellow pepper, broc. and carrots. MMMMM So good thanks so much for sharing. If you do not try this recipes you will be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita Koehler

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garland, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This was pretty easy to do. I accidentally read 1/2 lb of mushrooms for 1/2 cup, but it still worked. Fortunately, I bought more than 1/2 cup. I used the lo mein noodles vs pasta, and I used bs chicken thighs. One mistake I made was to let this sit for a while after it was done. It still tasted great. Eat this right away if you use lo mein noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I was disappointed in this. I followed the suggestions of previous posters, less water, oyster sauce, halved the ginger. But the ginger was still too powerful and did not much resemble take out. My husband said it was okay, but not to add it to the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
We liked this recipe ok, but it tasted nothing like the typical carry-out Lo Mein you'd get from a restaurant, which is what I was hoping for. I will probably make this again though, because it was so quick. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NATALIESHD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This was very good and not too time consuming. The only thing I changed was to use fresh lo mein noodles from the local Asian market. Once you add the sauce mixture, it may seem watery, but give it a chance...it will thicken. I was impatient and added more corn starch which led to it being really really thick. The amount of corn starch in the recipe is just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alayna B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Great recipe. Didn't use regular pasta. Purchased Lo Mein noodles from a local Asain Market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I wasn't too crazy about this, the flavor was good but probably won't make it again because of the time it took to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IndigoKiwi
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Great basic recipe. I used it to make mixed lo mein adding beef, shrimp, broccoli, snow peas, red pepper, and baby corn. I stir fry the veggies altogether initially in step four and then add 1/2 cup of water, reduce heat to medium low and cover to steam the veggies for 3-4 minutes until broccoli is still bright green and broccoli and carrots are tender crisp. I also used 2 1/4 cup of homemade chicken broth rather than the 1 1/4 cup broth + 1 cup water. This makes a very tasty mixed lo mein. My family really enjoyed it. I considered adding oyster sauce to it to complement the addition of the beef. Might still try that next time. I have recommended this recipe to friends and it has become a fast favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
To begin with, I left out the green onions and the mushrooms, because I don't like them. I also used Lo Mein noodles I found at Whole Foods instead of the noodles the recipe called for. Finally, I added 2 Tbsp. Oyster Sauce. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. I thought it was pretty salty, and just didn't have the same flavor I get from take-out. I'm guessing that there's no recipe I could find that would be the same, though, since their woks are seasoned so well. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: High Ridge, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States