Chicken Lo Mein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
FOR JECCA: The missing ingredient is oyster sauce...took me awhile to figure it out, but after trial and error, I used abt 2 -3 tbs. and it did the trick. Made great restaurant lo mein, with a thick brown sauce just like you get in Chinese take out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
334 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danica1976

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
This is an incredibly customizable recipe with a nice, solid flavor whatever you add. I can't honestly give it four stars because I changed it so much, but the sauce flavor was fantastic, reminiscent of the lo mein at one of my favorite local Asian restaurants (I don't know what the other reviewers are on about. Maybe they're all eating at bad restaurants!). Some lo meins that I've had at restaurants have a bland, onion-y flavor I really don't like, but this one was much more to my tastes. I didn't add mushrooms, because I hate them, and instead chose to add some chopped broccoli, carrots, snow peas and water chestnuts and also used pre-packaged stir fry noodles instead of linguini (that seemed an odd pasta choice to me.) I used half the sugar, no water, and halved the chicken broth and corn starch because I had a feeling it would be too saucy. The amount of ginger in the original recipe was actually good and did not have to be altered. What I ended up with was just about perfect. Some odd ingredients listed (don't use linguini!), but overall an excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
Great recipe says my wife, who usually doesn't favor Oriental noodles dishes. A couple comments about balancing flavors. All quantities in the recipe will be right if you use four 3-ounce packages of ramen noodles (any flavor okay because you will NOT use the flavoring packs, just the basic noodle blocks which only take three minutes to boiland separate). Chicken quantity should be 1-1/2 pounds. Suggest adding 1/2 small green pepper and 1/2 small red pepper in 3/4-inch dices along with other veggies to give flavor and slight crunchy texture to an otherwise soft dish. Use fresh ginger, never dried. Too bland? Add a teaspoon (or to taste) of Chinese or Thai hot red chili sauce when cooking veggies. Put chili sauce on the table for the more adventuruous. Stick with the liquid quantities listed in the recipe. Drain the cooked ramen noodles in a colander and then add to the wok; the sauce will be fully absorbed in the noodle mixture as it should be. Don't worry about making too much, leftovers will microwave great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
Rather poor actually. 1/2 cup of soy sauce??? If you are using some thin supermarket brand I would halve the amount. If you have a real soy sauce purchased in an asian market use only a couple of tablespoons. There is also way too much liquid in this recipe. Lose the extra cup of water and decrease the broth by a quarter of a cup. This recipe also bears little resemblance to the lo mein you might get in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
A 5 star recipe if you follow the recommendations of your fellow homecooks. I used spagetti instead of linguine and added a bag of stir fry veggies. It won't be "soupy" if you add a bit more cornstarch and give it more time to thicken up (2 minutes is not going to cut it). My husband says is his favorite of all the oriental dishes I have prepared... I made it yesterday and he is still talking about it. I added some shrimp with the veggies and some red crushed pepper to make it spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
I enjoyed this recipe but I did change it around a bit. I didn't use the water at all. I thought 1 cup of water and 1-1/4 cups of broth would have made this way to soupy. I stir-fried the chicken until most of the liquid was absorbed..this left it a golden brown color. I'm not a big fan of ginger, so I left that out and chopped up some broccoli, cauliflower and cabbage to use. I made the sauce (minus the water) and instead of using the full amount...I added a spoonful as I stir-fried my vegetables until I was pleased with the results. Instead of mixing this all together, I left the noodles seperate and also made a pot of rice. We added the amount we wanted to either the rice or noodles. This is nothing like the lo mein we get at our local chinese place, but this was still enjoyed nonetheless. Thanks Michelle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
Iloved the flavor of this recipe . What I did not like was the linguine noodles. I will use this recipe again,but use chinese noodles instead. I did like the recipe quick fast and inexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This recipe was good, and I will probably make again, however there is something missing. I dont think it tastes quite like restuarant style. We have a chinese place in town and my husband love their lo mein, but it seems like whenever i try to make it there is a specific taste missing, and I dont know what it is!! If anyone else tries this recipe and knows what is missing please let me know! Is it hoisin sauce? Fish sauce...I have no idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocklin, California, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I had a craving for Chinese restaurant-style Lo Mein, and after reading the 12 or so different variations on here, this one is as good as any (the process is mostly the same for all). I followed this recipe, but with these changes: I marinated the chicken overnight, used real Oriental Lo Mein noodles, and since I don't like mushrooms; I substituted other veggies- sliced onion, carrots, green peppers, water chestnuts, spring sprouts, and snow peas. (Hey) add what you like. Sure it was a combo of chicken & veggie Lo Mein , but wow, was it good. Used the base sauce here, and as others suggested- skipped the cup of water, and added a TBL of both Hoisin sauce & Oyster sauce (again- make it to your taste). All those Oriental flavors of sesame, ginger, garlic, Hoisin & Oyster sauce + the flavorful chicken & crisp veggies is like a party in your mouth. Don't be afraid to make a variation that suits you or your family's likes or dislikes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shak
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
I liked the idea of this recipe but to make it work for me i have to make some changes it just didnt taste good for me i will make again with some few adjustments im sure it will be great next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States