Chicken Lo Mein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
My family loved this dish. It is a lot of work but I thought it was well worth the time and easier on the budget then ordering out. I did make a few changes after reading the reviews. I added 2 tble spoons of oyster sauce, used a bag of stir-fry veggies and no mushrooms(my son hates mushrooms), low carb spaghetti noodles, reduced the soy sauce by half, double the liquid ingredience and corn starch. Over all with the changes it was very tasty. I will make again and try it with the Lo Mein noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Perfect. Better than restaurant quality. Only had regular mushrooms available. It worked out. Add chinese peas, 2 tble spoons of oyster sauce, can of water chestnut, guyanese chow mein noodles, add a bit teryaki madness, and a few drops of hot pepper sauce. Probably one of the hardest things I ever cooked. Next time try garnishing it with cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gavin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
As it sounds like other reviewers also think, this is a good starting place for chicken lo mein, but it is not quite there yet.... I followed the recipe pretty much exactly, with the exception of reducing the soy sauce, per reviewers suggestions, and I added a tablespoon of hoisin sauce. My gripes with this are that the sauce is far too runny - perhaps cutting the liquid in half but keeping the same proportions of flavor bases would do the trick. Also, I love ginger, but the flavor of the ginger in this was too overpowering - none of the other flavors could get through. I used Chinese egg noodles, but would recommend angel hair over linguine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alison.allen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mahtomedi, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I was actually not a fan of this recipe, the flavors did not seem to work well together and didn't taste at all like restaurant style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trent Michaels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Edinboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Added zuchinni and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lbarbee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ayden, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Very good. My husband loves this. Very watery. But taste great. Had to add more corn starch. Not too salty for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I did not like this. I agree with another user that this tasted like what you get from a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
too salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Just made it was OK but not what I expected. I wouldnt make it again. Didnt care for the flavor. Ive had better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Very Tasty and easy to make. Used rice noodles because I had some already cooked and in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Ligertwood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States