Chicken Lo Mein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
The rice wine vinegar and sugar took over the taste of this lo mein dish. I used 3/4 water instead of 1 cup. I substituted 2 Tbsp. oyster sauce for 1/4 cup of the soy sauce. Next time, I would do it without the sugar and rice wine. This dish has potential, but reminded me more of a chow mein dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I would have to agree & with another reviewer & say that it was rather poor. I've never had chicken lo mein that was saucy but decided to give this recipe a try because of the great reviews. Nobody in my family really enjoyed the dish. I would say the marinade for the chicken was great, but that's about it. I made some more lo mein the next day, but a dryer version (my own recipe), & everyone enjoyed it so much more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
It wasn't disgusting or anything, it just wasn't that good. I even tried adding oyster sauce like others suggested but it didn't fix the overall flaws with the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This is a good start for lo mein but it doesn't quite raise the bar on the dish. I made a few adjustments for my family's Meatless Monday meal. ** I recommend adding steamed broccoli, cauliflower, shredded cabbage, snow peas, water chestnuts, bean sprouts, onions, red/green peppers and onions to give this dish more pizazz. ** Waaaay too much sauce. Like others suggest cut back on the soy, water and some of the broth. ** Add a tbs of oyster sauce to give that true Asian flavor. Its a good dish but it needs tweeking. By the second go round you will have a masterful lo mein!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Served this with cooked cabbage instead of noodles for lower carbs, tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harvshoney

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Very good. My wife always orders Lo Mein when we get take out and is hard to please when it comes to her Lo Mein. She loved this when I made it for her and requested I make it again and often. I did leave out the additional water and for a dollar I got 6 packages of Ramen Noodles and used them all minus the seasoning packs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian M. Boccuzzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I fixed it once according to the recipe and it was very good. I read reviews and decided to fix it again with the addition of 2 tbls oyster sauce. That did the trick! Tasted just like take out lo mein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Tweaking is necessary. I'm going to try the oyster sauce suggested by the "Most Helpful Positive Review" if I ever make it again. I loathe mushrooms so I made this with cabbage (actually coleslaw mix in a bag since I didn't want to fool around with cutting cabbage), matchstick carrots, snow peas, and bamboo shoots. Other than the vegetable mix no changes were made though I'm tempted to add a splash more vinegar or something to perk it up a bit. Oyster sauce or vinegar may do it. It's an okay sub for when I don't feel like going to my fave Chinese place, but reality, it's cheaper and easier to drive to pick up my fave take out. Why mess with what the professionals have perfected?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
It's pretty good but very time consuming. The chicken marinade worked wonderfully. The recipe was easy to follow and the sauce came out well (and it helped to have it prepped from early on.) I added some broccoli and egg to it because I wanted to clean out my fridge. I would recommend making the recipe and would make it again myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I just tried this tonight, and I really liked it. The ginger was a bit overpowering for me, so I might reduce the amount I use next time. My fiance loved it even more. He wolfed down two and a half bowls before I could finish one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States