Chicken Lo Mein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
i added 1 tbs oyster sauce to the marinade, and another to the sauce. i think some veggies would be great in this dish, and give it the nutritional punch that would make it a more complete meal. but other than that, i followed the recipe exactly - my six-year-old liked it, and my husband has labled it a keeper. he's horribly picky, so in book, this recipe is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
This was yummy, but I made a few changes. The grocery store didn't have shiitakes when I went so I used portobellos instead. Also, I added some sliced red peppers that I needed to use up. I used tagliatelle noodles instead of linguine. I would have given this five stars, but since I made these substituitions, I'm not sure how it would be in its original state. All the same, looking forward to making it again soon...I couldn't stop eating it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chanteltbarrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay Roberts, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Great recipe! Only used half the water,half the black peper, forgot the ginger,3 cloves of garlic and left the mushrooms out but added some shredded carrots for color....and a pinch of red pepper flakes and replaced the sesame oil with olive oil and it was still wonderful! Thumbs up from both boys 9 and 19!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Just like take out! I added some other veggies, but turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geepa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Very good recipe. Did use garlic/ginger powder since I did not have on hand, but used green onions and mushrooms. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This recipe was pretty okay. It was a lot of work, but did not taste authentic enough in the end. It was way too saucy and too sweet. I will try again, but will use less water and less sugar. It was nearly like a thick Asian soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morenasa72

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
It was okay, I didn't think it tasted much like Lo Mein from the restaurants. I did use whole grain spaghetti and cube steak instead of chicken. It had flavor but wasn't very flavorful at the same time. Does that even make sense? Not a bad meal, but now I have a lot of it that we probably won't finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LpnLab

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Excellent Flavor!! I used spaghetti instead of linguini because I wanted thinner noodles..it worked great for me. :)I used olive oil instead of sesame. (Didn't have any on hand). I also added some chopped zucchini just because I needed to use it up quickly. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly...the sauce was flavored beautifully and thickened up just fine for me. Thanks so much. This is a keeper for us. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoneville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Ridgeway, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I have made this recipe numerous times now, and I am so glad that I did so AFTER reading the other reviews. This is a wonderful recipe of the suggested modifications. Do not use water. This has a wonderful taste and texture without it. I cannot imagine how runny and icky it would be with it. Also, I have always used ground ginger and I only use a small pinch because we are not big on ginger. The oyster sauce is a must. If you don't use it, you will notice something is missing. I also like to add brocolli when and bamboo shoots just for fun. I love this recipe and make it about once a week, but had to rate it a 3 due to all of the modification made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Had to make do with what we had: I only used one (giant, ha) chicken breast, used regular spaghetti noodles, and baby bella mushrooms instead of shiitake. Still delicious! My husband, who thought he hated lo mein, ended up eating most of the leftovers. (This is one of those meals that is even better the second day.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karenbee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States