Chicken Lo Mein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
We all really enjoyed this. I used 4 pkgs of Ramen noodles (without the seasoning packet) in place of the linguini. I also added julienned carrots, finely chopped broccoli, celery and pea pods. I added about 2 tbls. of oyster sauce to the chicken broth/water mixture (which I believe really helped the flavor of the sauce). I will definatley be making this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Really good and easy! I also tried it with thin sliced steak instead of chicken,beef broth instead of chicken broth (a full can), and chow mein noodles hold up a little better. Add water chestnuts, sliced carrots, broccoli, mushrooms and baby corn - YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Very good.Usually only fresh ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
There was just something about this recipe that I didn't like. I think if I were to make this again I would use less ginger, and grate it instead of chopping it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anya Howell

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sulphur Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
This hard to please family of 6 loves the recipe just the way it is. Thanks a bunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
The flavour of this was spot on. Exactly what I was looking for! Did not serve with the noodles but used rice on the side instead. Also added a lot more veges to the sauce. Will use again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Wow awesome! My mom used to own a chinese restaurant and it tasted very simular. I didn't have linguini noodles so i used regular spaghetti noodles. It definitely needed oyster sauce (appr 2 tsp-add in w/liquid ingredients) and maybe a little more soy sauce for taste. I used leftover BBQ chicken so that eliminated a step. I added ginger to the liquid part of ingredients and dumped it all in when all the veggies were cooked and noodles were added. This took me about 45 minutes start to finish. Great recipe-thanks! Don't forget the oyster sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Hmmmm...maybe it does need oyster sauce, but I couldn't find it at our local grocery store, so even though it is highly recommended by reviewers, I left it out. This is not my favorite recipe. It is definitely missing something. I don't think I'll make it again unless my husband comes home, loves it, and asks for it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
i added 1 tbs oyster sauce to the marinade, and another to the sauce. i think some veggies would be great in this dish, and give it the nutritional punch that would make it a more complete meal. but other than that, i followed the recipe exactly - my six-year-old liked it, and my husband has labled it a keeper. he's horribly picky, so in book, this recipe is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
This was yummy, but I made a few changes. The grocery store didn't have shiitakes when I went so I used portobellos instead. Also, I added some sliced red peppers that I needed to use up. I used tagliatelle noodles instead of linguine. I would have given this five stars, but since I made these substituitions, I'm not sure how it would be in its original state. All the same, looking forward to making it again soon...I couldn't stop eating it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chanteltbarrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay Roberts, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States