Chicken Lo Mein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by IndigoKiwi
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Great basic recipe. I used it to make mixed lo mein adding beef, shrimp, broccoli, snow peas, red pepper, and baby corn. I stir fry the veggies altogether initially in step four and then add 1/2 cup of water, reduce heat to medium low and cover to steam the veggies for 3-4 minutes until broccoli is still bright green and broccoli and carrots are tender crisp. I also used 2 1/4 cup of homemade chicken broth rather than the 1 1/4 cup broth + 1 cup water. This makes a very tasty mixed lo mein. My family really enjoyed it. I considered adding oyster sauce to it to complement the addition of the beef. Might still try that next time. I have recommended this recipe to friends and it has become a fast favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
To begin with, I left out the green onions and the mushrooms, because I don't like them. I also used Lo Mein noodles I found at Whole Foods instead of the noodles the recipe called for. Finally, I added 2 Tbsp. Oyster Sauce. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. I thought it was pretty salty, and just didn't have the same flavor I get from take-out. I'm guessing that there's no recipe I could find that would be the same, though, since their woks are seasoned so well. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: High Ridge, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Wow...I made this last night and I added in the Oyster Sauce as other reviewers had mentioned. I also used Oriental Noodles which really take on the flavor of the sauce...don't use spaghetti you'll miss out!! This was BETTER than take out that we've had and my 18 year old son absolutely loved it more than any he's ever had! Awesome recipe with a bit of tweaking otherwise wonderful flavors the meld together to make one wonderful dish. I also made the crab ragoon recipe on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Graceful585

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This is definitely a recipe to tinker with. I used the 2 Tbsp of oyster sauce as recommended. Instead of linguine, I used flour Lo Mein noodles from the Asian market. Once the meat and veggies were prepared, I put the uncooked noodles on top and stirred around, adding bits of water until the noodles were tender. Seemed pretty salty, I would recommend a low sodium soy sauce. Overall not bad, not my favorite Asian dish in general, but may appeal to true Lo Mein lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Overall a good recipe but we felt the sauce was lacking a little something. I added a bunch of veggies and still had a lot of sauce leftover. Will make again but maybe add red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
One word sums up this recipe: SUPERB!!! One of the best recipes out there and definitely my favorite even though it does not have that restaurant flavor. Everyone that tried this licked their plate clean! The most noticeable aspect in this dish is the strong and pleasing ginger flavor. I followed the recipe 100% but omitted the shitake since I didn't have any and added 1 tablespoon of fish sauce to give it a tad bit of extra flavor and 1 dry chili with the seeds for that extra kick. The next few times I've made this recipe I've added frozen vegetable mix and the taste remained just as good. Just as a FYI: The best and most flavorful Lo Mein I've had was at PF Changs since I've been very disappointed with most of the Lo Mein dishes at most other restaurants due to the bland and greasy taste as well as substandard ingredients. So far, this Lo Mein sauce is superb and only leaves a desire to replace the noodles similar to what PF Changs has in their Lo Mein; and then this recipe would be a run away hit. I only wish someone would post a PF Changs recipe for chicken Lo Mein out there with info on their noodles too. Cheers and enjoy this great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Was easy. Tasted good but not like the lo mein at a restaurant. The ginger overpowered everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I used apple cidar vinegar, 1 1/2 bags frozen oriental vegis, 1 can of water chestnuts & omited the water & used all chicken broth. It came out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassiesmommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
my family loved it!!!!, I added few vegetables
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
We thought this was really good. I made minimal changes because 1. it was what i had on hand. and 2. it was made for my 6 year old who wants nothing to do with mushrooms. I followed the directions except I had to use ginger from my cupboard because I read the ingredients incorrectly and did not purchase fresh, and added fresh broccoli and carrots vs green onions and mushrooms. We also had to use Fettucine noodles because I thought it was linguini lurking in my cupboard, but it wasnt :) My picky 6 year old had 2 bowls and my 2 year old ate her bowl as well and told me "momma, this is good" Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States