Chicken Lo Mein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
That's a great Lo mein recipe. I like it. Looks like Vietnamese Stir fried Pho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Abbey
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I've never made lo mein chicken before but this recipe was pretty easy to follow and fun to make. The fresh ingredients are a must and fresh ginger will make all the difference. Delicious, better than take-out. The boyfriend said "make this again tomorrow night!" So it's a winner, thanks Meesh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I didn't really care for this dish. It had flavor, just not the one I was looking for. However, the vegetables were delicious! I really wanted it to taste just like lo mein from a Chinese buffet but not even close. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pantyyyshot

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
No matter how much you try to adjust it, it won't taste just like what you'd find at a Chinese restaurant. The best you can do is to come close to the real thing. Linguine noodles (Italian), ramen noodles (a Japanese noodle suggested by another reviewer) will only get you so far. If you can find lo mein noodles in the refrigerated section of an Asian market, that is what you need. The other thing that will get the taste closer to the real thing is adding oyster sauce. I use Lee Kum Kee Premium oyster sauce, as it has the best taste. With all that said, this is not a bad recipe with some adjusting, and not bad considering it's easy to find these ingredients at your local grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
My husband said this seemed restaurant quality. I think the flavors are reminiscent of Chinese take out, but thankfully less bland than most. Followed some of the other reviews and used chicken thighs, added oyster sauce, bell pepper, and sauteed cabbage, used 1/4 the amount of water, substituted the sugar with honey, and used chow mien noodles instead of linguine. Left out the garlic (not on purpose!) but I think it was fine without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Instead of of chicken I used left over sirloin, I also opted to use thin whole wheat spahgetti. I sliced 1 yellow and 1 red bell pepper in a 1 tsp olive oil. Meanwhile I made the sauce separately by adding 1/2 c low sodium soy sauce, 3 tbls oyster sauce, 1 tbls crushed garlic, 1/2 inch of grated fresh ginger root, 3 tsp sugar, cracked black pepper, 1 squirt of Sirrachi (optional for heat). Once the pepper are al dente I added in the sliced beef, 1 head of sliced Napa cabbage, 1 hand full of bean sprouts, re-hydrated shitaki mushrooms sliced (can be used instead of meat) , 1 whole grated carrot, 4 green onions. When all veggies are cooked down I added the whole wheat pasta and tossed with the sauce. Can be topped with toasted sesame seeds, I didn't have sesame oil so I am not sure how much of an impact it would have. This is a large portion but is ok as we will be enjoying this tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liraysmomma

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: La Puente, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
So easy to make n the portions were large.I loved that the portions were large btw. everybody loved it and left their plate clean! Will become a regular in my household
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Made this last night and it was great! It makes a ton. Next time I'll only use 3 chicken breasts. 4 is too many. I also used some of the others suggestions. I cut the total sugar in half, used 2 cups of chicken broth and no water, low sodium soy sauce, plus I used lo-mein noodles instead of linguini. I used less shitaki mushrooms, but next time I'll use button. Shitaki are kind of slimy. I also used baby corn and thinly sliced pea pods which worked out great. I also used 2 tsp of oyster sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
i was pretty impressed with this. only did a few things different per other suggestions. added about 3 tbsp oyster sauce, let it simmer about 15 minutes to thicken, used hokkien noodles and added carrots and broccoli to the mushrooms and onions. very yummy. next time i might add some cashews and water chestnuts to give it a bit more crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This was quite good! We halved the ginger, because I thought it would be too strong, and I tossed in a bag of frozen stir fry veggies and extra green onions. I think it would have been lacking without that. We served over linguine and topped with crunchy chow mein noodles. the only 2 things I would do would be to try adding oyster sauce (at the recommendation of other raters) and use low sodium soy sauce, because it was too salty. With these tweaks, I would definitely make this again sometime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States