Chicken Lo Mein with Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Arizona Desert Flower
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I think there's a typo. 3 tbsp cornstarch will NEVER dissolve into 2 tbsp of soy sauce. I added more soy, plus some olive oil and sesame seed oil just to get the hard as a rock mixture to dissolve. We all missed sauce--there was no sauce over the spaghetti, which could be considered a crime in my house. I say, personally--quadruple (or more) the sauce, follow directions and just before adding the noodles, dump the marinade into the fry pan, cook for a few minutes, THEN toss your spaghetti. Voilà...sauce. I made this on Sunday, bagged everything and finished it on Monday without issue--great for a make ahead and finish off meal! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This looks like an amazing, easy lo mein - lo mein is not a saucy recipe, it is more of a side dish. I bet the basic recipe could be altered to add any type of protein in it - definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Instead of soy sauce I used Bragg Liquid Aminos All Purpose Seasoning and GF noodles. Great healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
This is indeed a very adaptable recipe. I followed other reviewers' advice and did not use the water, and cut down the chicken broth to one cup. I also added a little of almost every Asian sauce, including hoisin and oyster, and I simmered it somewhere between five to ten minutes. The result was pretty thick, with enough sauce that I made extra noodles to mix in. But it tasted pretty good! It's a good recipe in that you can use whatever vegetables you like and change the sauce up too, depending on what consistency you prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraB
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Very good, not buried in sauce. I think next time I will put the onions in little later than the rest of the veggies so they don't get so soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I have never made lo mein. Was so happy to find this was a very easy recipe, tasted good and I had everything in the house. I didn't have quite enough celery so added very thin cabbage slices and it was still great! Will make it again! Thank you, Cookie Gram Dorothy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I made this last night for dinner. The marinade was way to thick and I agree with the other reviews. I added about a 1/4 cup of Hosin sause to the stirfry. I also used angel hair spaghetti. I loved it...my husband thought said it left a great taste on his tongue!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This dish turned out well after a few tweaks. I used minced garlic instead of the powder and added a splash of sesame oil to the marinade. I only added 1-1/2 TBSP of corn starch after reading the reviews. Once the chicken was no longer pink, I removed it and kept it warm. After the veggies were soft, I added about 8 oz of chicken broth, plus 1-1/2 TBSP corn starch to some cold broth. I stirred it until smooth, and then threw it in when I added the chicken and noodles back in, which made a nice sauce that wasn't too thick. I took the chicken out when it was no longer pink and held it out until the veggies were soft. I used Lo Mein noodles from the store. They were ok but not as good as what I get when ordering out. I'll try spaghetti next time. My whole family liked this. My son is the pickiest and he ate it. I'll save this one and use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianeschmidtks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potosi, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Delicious. I made this using some rice noodles that I needed to get used up. A great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I madre it... it was awesome. Easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States