Chicken Livers Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
I made some changes to this recipe and found a new way of making liver. All of our boys went back for seconds. Even the 2 that hate liver. Here are the changes I made: Put olive oil in large stew pot, chopped up 1 large sweet onion and sauteed till golden. Added in 3 lbs of liver, paprika, salt and pepper. When doing this to season to taste you must season to your taste. I used quite a bit of paprika and pepper. I also added in garlic powder since I make Beef Stroganoff quite often and I like the flavor it gives. After I cooked it down I added 1 can of cream of chicken soup mix per pound of livers. This thickened it up quite a bit too. Just before serving I added 1 16oz container of fat free sour cream. We had ours over rice. I don't like cooking too much with wine or alcohol that is why I used the cream of chicken soup. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Raegene Mendenhall Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Xenia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
This was a great recipe. I made this for my boyfriend and his father and they both went back for seconds and thirds! The sauce was excellent, worthy of a restaurant menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
My mom made this when my sister and I were growing up, only she used chicken hearts. Sounds wrong, but it's extremely filling and incredibly comforting. I like it best over mashed potatoes. TIP: If you don't have sherry, use beef or chicken broth/stock. Whichever you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
Fantastic!!!!! I thought 1 tablespoon of paprika sounded like a lot but it wasn't. My husband says this recipe is a keeper! Works well with the turbo cooker, just use less oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
I thought this was great. I used seasoned salt with the black pepper and paprika and thought the seasoning was fine for our tastes. The consistency was fine for me too (a concern in earlier reviews), but if you like a thicker "stick-together" sauce, you could easily thicken it a bit by sprinkling a little flour before adding the wine & sour cream. I love chicken livers but I think this would be equally good with other meats of your choice. Something different and a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
Wow! My husband and I occasionally eat chicken livers, and this recipe is restursnt quality. It is very rich, and with the wine and sour crean,the flavor is wonderful. I made it tonight and served it over noodles, as directed in the recipe,but maybe next time will serve it over rice to mop up all that good gravy.Husband really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, New York, USA
Living In: Laporte, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
My husband loved it he said next time that we should add vege's though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
My wife, who did not like chicken livers till she had my rendition of my mother's recipe as "comfort food" the first time I fixed dinner for her, declared this recipe " that's good." The next time I do it, I will use criminis rather than white button mushrooms. That is the only thing I will change. I'll let you know how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pataskala, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Not only is this a delicious recipe as is, but the leftovers make a wonderful breakfast. I sauteed some additional onion and mushrooms in a little butter. Cut up the leftover livers and added all to a scrambled egg. Yummy high protein way to start the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This is delicious! The only changes I made was after adding the liver I turned the heat to low and covered the pan to cook the liver slowly. Then I added a little flour mixed with water to slightly thicken it before adding the sherry & sour cream. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NAUTICOLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodburn, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States