Chicken Livers Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
Once in awhile I make something I've never tried before. I've never even had chicken livers, but this recipe was really great. Will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
This was a great recipe. I made this for my boyfriend and his father and they both went back for seconds and thirds! The sauce was excellent, worthy of a restaurant menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
Fantastic!!!!! I thought 1 tablespoon of paprika sounded like a lot but it wasn't. My husband says this recipe is a keeper! Works well with the turbo cooker, just use less oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
Husband and I thought this dish was OK (we're big fans of chicken livers). Need to perk it up with a few more spices...I used a couple of pinches of oregano but will try something different next time. It was quick, easy and the sherry made it have a unique taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
I love chicken livers, but didn't like this recipe. It had too much sherry (too sweet) and the sauce was too watery with all those onions. I was very disappointed. I think it needed double the paprika, also, as I could not even taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
I thought this was great. I used seasoned salt with the black pepper and paprika and thought the seasoning was fine for our tastes. The consistency was fine for me too (a concern in earlier reviews), but if you like a thicker "stick-together" sauce, you could easily thicken it a bit by sprinkling a little flour before adding the wine & sour cream. I love chicken livers but I think this would be equally good with other meats of your choice. Something different and a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
My husband had never had ckn livers before. He thought it was really good. My son and I also thought it was "tasty", but we all just have a hard time getting past the texture of liver. Probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I love liver, but this recipe just ruined it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
great dish! really enjoyed this 'twist' on chicken livers - the sherry and sour cream give it a really tangy flavour. tastes even better next day. will definitely be making this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilkenny, County Kilkenny, Ireland
Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
I made some changes to this recipe and found a new way of making liver. All of our boys went back for seconds. Even the 2 that hate liver. Here are the changes I made: Put olive oil in large stew pot, chopped up 1 large sweet onion and sauteed till golden. Added in 3 lbs of liver, paprika, salt and pepper. When doing this to season to taste you must season to your taste. I used quite a bit of paprika and pepper. I also added in garlic powder since I make Beef Stroganoff quite often and I like the flavor it gives. After I cooked it down I added 1 can of cream of chicken soup mix per pound of livers. This thickened it up quite a bit too. Just before serving I added 1 16oz container of fat free sour cream. We had ours over rice. I don't like cooking too much with wine or alcohol that is why I used the cream of chicken soup. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNSCOTT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Xenia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States