Chicken Livers Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
This was a nice change from the way I normally cook chicken livers. I used a sweet onion and quartered about 8 oz. of crimini mushrooms. I was very liberal in my use of black pepper and replaced the regular sour cream with the light version. This one I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This is delicious! The only changes I made was after adding the liver I turned the heat to low and covered the pan to cook the liver slowly. Then I added a little flour mixed with water to slightly thicken it before adding the sherry & sour cream. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NAUTICOLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodburn, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I did this recipe minus a few ingredients. Very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Millville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Not only is this a delicious recipe as is, but the leftovers make a wonderful breakfast. I sauteed some additional onion and mushrooms in a little butter. Cut up the leftover livers and added all to a scrambled egg. Yummy high protein way to start the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
My wife, who did not like chicken livers till she had my rendition of my mother's recipe as "comfort food" the first time I fixed dinner for her, declared this recipe " that's good." The next time I do it, I will use criminis rather than white button mushrooms. That is the only thing I will change. I'll let you know how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pataskala, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
My mom made this when my sister and I were growing up, only she used chicken hearts. Sounds wrong, but it's extremely filling and incredibly comforting. I like it best over mashed potatoes. TIP: If you don't have sherry, use beef or chicken broth/stock. Whichever you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Very definitely a keeper!! My family have hearty appetites and chicken livers are a favorite dish, so I doubled the liver, onions, noodles and mushrooms. Increased the wine to 1/2 C & sour cream to 16 oz. Doubled the sweet paprika, added 2 tsp garlic powder as another person suggested and 1/2 tsp sharp paprika. I will increase the sweet paprika by another 1/2 - 1 T next time. We all loved it and I would rate it 4.5 if that were possible. The dog would rate it zero; he usually has plates to lick - not tonight, nothing left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carnivore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
My husband loved it he said next time that we should add vege's though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I did not care for this. The sherry and sour cream together did not taste good. If I could give it less than 1 star I would have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Diva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This was the worst meal I have ever had, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States