Chicken Liver Pate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
The flavor of this paté is AMAZING! I like a little bite to my patés but not quite as dense as a country paté. I add whole peppercorns as well as chopped pistachios, parsley & thyme. The only thing I leave out of this recipe is the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Awesome pate', looked at all the reviews before I started making it to see what everyone's opinions of it were. I cooled the liver after I sauteed it, drained the liquid off, but kept it to add to food processor, I added tsp of Worcester sauce, extra clove of garlic ( we love garlic). Cooked the wine with the butter & garlic, & onion.. Now it's chilling in the fridge, & it's the right spreading consistency already, the flavor was great...thank you!??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Dams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I did cheat. Instead of using regular cream cheese, I used garlic and herb spreadable cheese. Gave it extra flavor without so much work. Other ingredients as listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Velazquez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Never made pate... Was a lil freaked out at container of fresh chick livers at deli... Uummm... Believe it or not, I needed this as an INGREDIENT for beef wellington. So, it was good. The Wellington was outstanding :). Really retro 60's cocktail party :). Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linden, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NNChick
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I didn't have sherry and didn't want to buy any so I used 2 tablespoons of Moscato wine (that's a sweet wine) that I always have for a friend who comes over often and likes it. I also used unsalted real butter because that was handy too, and Tabasco pepper sauce rather than your average hot sauce because I like the taste of Tabasco better. Oh yeah.. I used a lovely shallot instead of regular onion and I chopped it extra fine.. All these alterations were because I used what I had rather than buy more stuff! At first it looked like I had over-liquified it in the blender, but I let it all set for a few hours and tried it... I could taste my sub wine and thought I messed up.... HOWEVER, the next day it was the perfect consistency and delicious. Light livery taste with a kick from the hot sauce! Outstanding! So - I think this should be made the day before and let it sit overnight to serve to guests so it's cold and firm. Also, I tried it with crackers and light rye toast and the rye toast won hands-down. But the cracker version wasn't too shabby either. I'll make this for liver-loving friends anytime! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NNChick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I loved the flavor but was disappointed that they didn't add some unflavored gelatin or some type of thickener to it as it hasn't quite set yet in my fridge :=( Some people mention draining the juices from the chicken liver mixture after cooking/prior to putting in the food processor/blender, but it seems to me that the juices are too flavorful to just throw away. Next time I'll figure out some type of thickener so it sets better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLFeeney

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Excellent base recipe. My first try at homemade pate and it came out beautifully. I tweaked a tad bit(eat pate often from gourmet markets in hood) -- I added a teaspoon of Worchester sauce (tang was missing) and used plenty (8-10 grinds) of fresh ground pepper to get the specks of black, let liver cool off about 10 minutes in freezer before blending so mixture does not liquefy when cream cheese is added, and finally when blending in cream cheese also blend in an extra pat of butter (French way)that makes it very creamy and gives more form to the cooled product. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
This was an alright pate. Missing something. Not sure what though. I usually just wing it...and am happier with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This is the first time I've tried liver. Since the other reviews are so positive, I assume that I must just hate liver because that was the most disgusting thing I've ever put in my mouth. But I'm glad that it must have been a good recipe so I know it was the liver itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Good Frickin' Paprika Chicken

See how to make a yogurt-based marinade for grilled paprika chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States