Chicken Liver Pate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
First of all, let me say that the flavor of this mixture was fantastic. However, there were too many variables left to chance. Yes, well all have different "to taste" measurements, but please give a median amount as a starting point; three "to taste" ingredients is too many. I followed the directions, converting the ingredients to match 1 lb of chicken livers. There's no pretty way of saying that what I ended up with was a liver shake, or a very runny liver mousse. It was unappetizing to the extreme in appearance, and still has not set up after six hours in the refrigerator. Because the flavors are so fabulous, I may yet try to salvage this by using some unflavored gelatin. Just a word to the wise: even tho the recipe does not say to do so, DRAIN your livers after simmering, and add liquid as needed only. Next time, I will also use a food processor or a hand-grinder rather than a blender for more control of the texture. Flavor -- five-star, appearance -- BLECHH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I quadrupled this to use a pound of livers, added some extra onion and garlic (well, 7 cloves, sliced) while sauteing the livers, and used a fraction of the sherry called for, and it was amazing. I've tried it with the amount of sherry suggested, but that seemed to overpower everything else. As for draining the livers, I didn't - a fair bit of that liquid is melted butter, which sets up nicely when chilled. The blender does seem to liquefy ingredients easier than my food processor does. I'd suggest letting the livers cool considerably before mashing, then add that liquid as seems called for. Totally delicious when served on garlic toast rounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2001
This is a very simple, yet tasty, recipe. Preparation was quick and the results were very satisfying. The sherry adds a subtle sweetness to the pate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
Left the remainder at a party and the hosts had it for breakfast the next day. I tripled the other amounts but used a little over a whole lb of livers. It was great for a party of 24.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I think this recipe is good, but its not great. It seems to be missing 'something'. I mean no disrespect to the author, however, it does need a little fine tuning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vandalia, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
My Hat off to Miss Amy! Very Good Results .. (Used Food Processer for Onion & Garlic...and again for mixing in final ingr. & Cream Cheese ... Tripled recipe. PreBoiled Livers with Chicken Boulion added (1/2 cooked/Pink in middle) Cut up in pieces & added to Sauting Onions & Garlic 1 TBSP LESS Butter Substituted with 2 TBSP Hot Bacon Grease with garlic & Onion...mixed in Sherry, Salt, Pepper & Hot Sauce while mashing livers and stirring frequently for about 6 minutes on med heat.. 1 1/2 hours later chilled...SLAMMIN!! Choose Crackers Wisely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
very good if you like pate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I love this. As did all adults at our Party. The kids werent crazy about it, but the adults raved..The only thing I did differently was I used grape juice instead of sherry, as I hardly ever have alcohol on hand...Super thanks..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
I made this pate over the holidays and served it at a couple different gatherings. Overall, it was liked by all those who tried it. The sherry is a nice touch. I don't know if I would make this recipe again, I know I've had better pate. I will probably keep searching for a pate recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Awesome even if chicken livers gross you out like they do me! Guests tried it, raved about it, THEN asked what it was. You'll have many converts, I promise. It's amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States