Chicken Liver Pate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This recipe is easy, and tastes great!!I get rave reviews everytime I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I put in way to much liver, burnt the garlic black, did not strain as some one suggested, but I must say I made some fine pate, and this is coming from someone who does not make make this sort of thing!! It is chilling in the fridge now so we will see if it is really pate tomorrow at lunch! I thing that with some practice I can make some fab pate! But I must say cutting chicken livers is not for the faint hearted! I really gave my livers a good scrub after cutting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
First of all, let me say that the flavor of this mixture was fantastic. However, there were too many variables left to chance. Yes, well all have different "to taste" measurements, but please give a median amount as a starting point; three "to taste" ingredients is too many. I followed the directions, converting the ingredients to match 1 lb of chicken livers. There's no pretty way of saying that what I ended up with was a liver shake, or a very runny liver mousse. It was unappetizing to the extreme in appearance, and still has not set up after six hours in the refrigerator. Because the flavors are so fabulous, I may yet try to salvage this by using some unflavored gelatin. Just a word to the wise: even tho the recipe does not say to do so, DRAIN your livers after simmering, and add liquid as needed only. Next time, I will also use a food processor or a hand-grinder rather than a blender for more control of the texture. Flavor -- five-star, appearance -- BLECHH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I think this recipe is good, but its not great. It seems to be missing 'something'. I mean no disrespect to the author, however, it does need a little fine tuning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vandalia, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I love this. As did all adults at our Party. The kids werent crazy about it, but the adults raved..The only thing I did differently was I used grape juice instead of sherry, as I hardly ever have alcohol on hand...Super thanks..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
It was tasty but I seemed to be the only one eating it. You need a sophisticated crowd for this one. I will make it again but maybe a touch less sherry. Nice consistancy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Awesome even if chicken livers gross you out like they do me! Guests tried it, raved about it, THEN asked what it was. You'll have many converts, I promise. It's amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
I made this pate over the holidays and served it at a couple different gatherings. Overall, it was liked by all those who tried it. The sherry is a nice touch. I don't know if I would make this recipe again, I know I've had better pate. I will probably keep searching for a pate recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
This is wonderful. The only suggestion I have is, I added more cream cheese and I also added some cream since it ended up so thick when it was chilled that it was hard to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
Left the remainder at a party and the hosts had it for breakfast the next day. I tripled the other amounts but used a little over a whole lb of livers. It was great for a party of 24.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Good Frickin' Paprika Chicken

See how to make a yogurt-based marinade for grilled paprika chicken.

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States