Chicken Liver Pate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. I make it regularly for a francophone club party at my university.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Campbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Excellent! I make mine in my food processer and didn't process to long, just pulsed it several times. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Based on previous reviewers comments I tripled the recipe so that it would be easier to mix in the food processor. I figured I could freeze some of it. I used more onion than the recipe calls for and to deglaze the pan I used low sodium soy sauce. I probably could have used regular soy sauce because I needed to add more salt at the end. I'm sure it would have been great with the dry sherry but I didn't want to use it since I'm pregnant. I also added some bacon to give it some extra flavor. It's good but I think I'll play with the flavoring more before serving it to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I upped the recipe to use a whole pound of chicken livers. I did the recipe as written but there was too much liquid after cooking the livers. The pate would never thicken up even after several hours in the fridge. I made it again everything the same but drained the livers before blending and it worked great. Just the right consistancy. I also added more garlic and onion but that's just me. I will definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orchard, Texas, USA
Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
A good, tasty, and simple recipe. I used the liver from my 22 lb Thanksgiving turkey, which was just over 1/4 lb, so I kept all the other quantities as listed. I think using a smaller amount of liver helped allow the moisture to evaporate from the pan when being sauteed, because there was very little liquid in the pan when the liver was cooked. If anything, there wasn't enough liquid, and it was rather hard to puree the small amount of thick stuff in my food processor. (Note: I first tried the blender, but the mixture was waaaay to thick for the blender to work effectively.) Also, to avoid having an overpowering sherry flavor that other reviewers mentioned (which I attribute to the alcohol in the sherry), I added the sherry to the garlic, onion, and liver at the end of the sauteing time to deglaze the pan and evaporate some of the alcohol. The sherry definitely didn't overwhelm the other flavors. Overall, a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This was a very good recipe, it is easy and tasty. But if there are any pate snobs out there (I'm sort of one), I would rate this as a pate spread rather than a more formal pate. The cream cheese was an interesting base, but it worked. I did not use sherry (I didn't have any), and mine turned out quite thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I have never made pate before and this was super easy and really good. I did make a few changes based on items I had available in my kitchen - I used our leftover chicken livers that were wrapped in bacon, I didn't use the sherry because I didn't have any and I added an extra clove of garlic. It was very good and even my kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I quadrupled this to use a pound of livers, added some extra onion and garlic (well, 7 cloves, sliced) while sauteing the livers, and used a fraction of the sherry called for, and it was amazing. I've tried it with the amount of sherry suggested, but that seemed to overpower everything else. As for draining the livers, I didn't - a fair bit of that liquid is melted butter, which sets up nicely when chilled. The blender does seem to liquefy ingredients easier than my food processor does. I'd suggest letting the livers cool considerably before mashing, then add that liquid as seems called for. Totally delicious when served on garlic toast rounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This recipe is easy, and tastes great!!I get rave reviews everytime I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I put in way to much liver, burnt the garlic black, did not strain as some one suggested, but I must say I made some fine pate, and this is coming from someone who does not make make this sort of thing!! It is chilling in the fridge now so we will see if it is really pate tomorrow at lunch! I thing that with some practice I can make some fab pate! But I must say cutting chicken livers is not for the faint hearted! I really gave my livers a good scrub after cutting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Good Frickin' Paprika Chicken

See how to make a yogurt-based marinade for grilled paprika chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States