Chicken Liver Pate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Wow amazing. Was looking for ingredients to use up some cream cheese and stumbled upon this recipe. I love vietnamese sandwiches but don't live anywhere I can purchase, so I've been working on duplicating the recipe. Wow cream cheese made such a huge difference in taste and made my existing recipe 90% closer. This is probably a 5 star recipe but I gave just 4 because didn't make the chicken liver, bought braunschweiger instead and then starting adding the other ingredients to taste. WOW! Awesome pate for my sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Delicious. I used chinese rice cooking wine instead of cooking sherry, but it's quite similar - and I put in about 1/3 less of the wine, seeing others' comments about it being too liquid. It came out pretty syrupy, but after a couple of hours in the fridge it got a nice buttery texture and is perfect for spreading. And it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Auriam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This is a delicious recipe BUT with a few minor tweaks needed (IMO). I like garlic so I sautéed two medium sized cloves in the butter till fragrant then discarded before following the recipe as written....for the most part. I followed EJ's wise advise and drained the livers but reserved the liquid to add a small portion to the food processor until the mixture reached a consistency I liked. Sorry folks, I did not measure, just eyeballed it. Instead of regular salt I used a combination of regular salt and My Familys Seasonings...end result was fantastic! It reminds me of the liverwurst that Hickory farms used to sell. Family and friends loved it, as it was eaten up pretty fast =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Musseid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
We eat a lot of store bought pâté and thought we would look for a recipe to prepare at home with our children. We found this recipe to have a very unusual taste, and to be very watery for much longer than the few hours recommended for setting time. It did, however, set to a firm consistency after about a day in the refrigerator. The cream cheese is a peculiar addition, and I found the uncooked sherry to overpower the rest of the dish. I will certainly keep looking for pâté recipes and will not prepare this again. If you are looking for something comparable to the pâté you can purchase in the grocery store, I would start with a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kempton Park, Gauteng, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I couldn't find chicken livers so I used beef and it was a total flop. Whenever I can find chicken livers I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanz1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arnold, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This is memorable. I felt like I was a chef at a 5 star restaurant when I was eating this. Really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This is a keeper! I had 1.25 lbs of chix livers, so I quintupled it. I took the advice of NOT draining and did not overpuree it in the blender, and the consistency was good. I had no sherry, so I used chardonnay, but not 5X--much less. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Great recipe. In a word outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Very good recipe. One suggestion though: when the liver is ready, before putting it in a blender you need to drain it thoroughly. Otherwise it will be too thin and watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Loved it. Closest I've gotten to a "parfait" type pate. Thank you. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kittery, Maine, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Good Frickin' Paprika Chicken

See how to make a yogurt-based marinade for grilled paprika chicken.

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States