Chicken Korma Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
"Authentic" korma or not, I thought this was delicious! I wasn't sure if I was supposed to leave the whole spices in the oil during the whole cooking time, or take them out before adding onion. But I left them in the whole time, taking them out just before serving. And my dish had some serious kick! I doubled everything in the recipe, except the chicken, cause I like "saucy" dishes. I served this with steamed broccoli and it was delicious! I brought some to work today for lunch and I can't wait to heat it up. I've never cooked with buttermilk before, but now it's definitely a favorite! Thank you for sharin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lund, Skane, Sweden
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Brukte Coriander frø og Kardemomme pulver. Veldig bra. Skummet kultur klumpet seg litt. Røre inn litt rømmer helt på slutten er like bra. Brukte litt vel mye hakket tomet siste gangen. Heller mer tomatpure og lang koking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
This is a favorite! I like to make it just with veggies, for my vegetarian friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
First, this is not a korma. That said, it's a quite good tomato-based Indian dish, very much like the Indian Tomato Chicken recipe on this site. (For reference, this dish is faster to prepare and works better served on rice. (The other recipe works better with whole chicken breasts and without rice because it doesn't have enough sauce of proper consistency to go over rice in addition to the chicken; this one does.) Also, this recipe is less healthy (but still pretty healthy).)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
Outstanding! Reasonably quick and very tasty. My son walked in the kitchen and said "What smells so good?". Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Studboy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Oregon, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
I created this reciept exactly as directed and it was VERY GOOD. I ate two servings myself! The chicken was tender and the flavor fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This is one of my favorite dishes. Given some of the other reviews I decided to replace the red pepper flakes with 1/8 - 1/4 tsp ground cayenne red pepper, depending on how spicy I want it. This added just the right amount of kick. Also, I noticed that the chicken was more flavorful when I tripled the recipe for a potluck - I believe this was due to a longer simmering time, so now I make sure to add enough water and tomato sauce so I can cook it about 5-10 minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baskerville_gal
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I used ground spices because I didn't have them whole. Also, I had to substitute curry powder because I didn't have coriander or cardamom. That being said, the flavor of this dish was incredible! This was easy to make, and so delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Terrific!! I didn't measure the spices and was pretty loose about following the recipe and this still turned out amazing!! I will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
My first try at Indian. It was delicious however I woefully underestimated the power of the crushed red pepper flakes. I'm slowly building up my tolerance to dishes with alot of heat or spice to it this however blew the top off. I loved the flavorings but I had to down two glasses of milk to get through it. So a word of warning if you don't like heat at least halve the called for flakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States