Chicken Korma Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
This recipe is very easy and is great for a fast, weeknight dinner. If you follow the recipe and use whole spices rather than ground I can't see how they would need to be doubled. If you find a good spice store or Indian grocery that sells spices by the ounce, they will be very inexpensive. Whether or not this is an authentic korma, quality spices bump this recipe up from good to great. I really enjoy it and will continue to make it regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This is one of my favorite dishes. Given some of the other reviews I decided to replace the red pepper flakes with 1/8 - 1/4 tsp ground cayenne red pepper, depending on how spicy I want it. This added just the right amount of kick. Also, I noticed that the chicken was more flavorful when I tripled the recipe for a potluck - I believe this was due to a longer simmering time, so now I make sure to add enough water and tomato sauce so I can cook it about 5-10 minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Tastes good, but the spices need to be doubled. Also, Indian food is never garnished with parsley. Coriander leaves aka cilantro is used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niloufer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
I created this reciept exactly as directed and it was VERY GOOD. I ate two servings myself! The chicken was tender and the flavor fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
Outstanding! Reasonably quick and very tasty. My son walked in the kitchen and said "What smells so good?". Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Studboy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Oregon, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
"Authentic" korma or not, I thought this was delicious! I wasn't sure if I was supposed to leave the whole spices in the oil during the whole cooking time, or take them out before adding onion. But I left them in the whole time, taking them out just before serving. And my dish had some serious kick! I doubled everything in the recipe, except the chicken, cause I like "saucy" dishes. I served this with steamed broccoli and it was delicious! I brought some to work today for lunch and I can't wait to heat it up. I've never cooked with buttermilk before, but now it's definitely a favorite! Thank you for sharin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lund, Skane, Sweden
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
A little disappointing. I eat many curries and found this a little bland, also I enjoy the coconut milk and cream version better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
Made this for my Indian Husband and his friend one night. It was not what I expected. There was no flavor at all. it was very bland, Indian food is not suppose to be bland/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
Due to reviewer comments, I decided to cook the dish differently to absorb more flavor. I sauteed according to instruction and cut the chicken into 2 in cubes and added tomato sauce to the crockpot. I also changed a few spices--using curry instead of cumin and cloves. After 3 hours in the crockpot I added cubed potatoes, green peas, carrots and the buttermilk and let that heat through for 20 min. Man, this dish had some kick! The chicken was also very tender and good. I now know not to be so liberal with the spices in the crockpot. I used light sour cream and that mellowed the hot dish perfectly. I like that the lowfat buttermilk is a healthier option to coconut milk. Thanks for the recipe and reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trainerleslie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
The sauce in this dish was delicious.. though my husband and I didn't particularly like the chicken. Next time I think we'll use veggi's such as potato's and broccoli instead of meat. We dipped whole wheat naan bread in the sauce and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States