Chicken Korma II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Loved this...did as others suggested and cut corners with the steps...definite keeper - making again this weekend..YUM...UPDATE: Made this several times now....(1) Substitute creme fraiche and coconut milk for cream/yoghurt - works just as good and saves a few calories (2) Shred the chicken - really works well (3) Indian chili powder can be hard to get so just add crushed chilli/red pepper flakes to spice it up a bit to your own preference (4) Add raisins - adds a sweet/tang to the dish which works great (5) Add a little more cornflour than suggested to thicken up the sauce (6) I also add mushrooms just coz I like them....all in all I will be making this again and again and again....we're hooked!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This was a very tasty and easy dish that I will make again. I did make some changes, however. I added 1 cup of diced potatoes and 1 cup of chopped carrots because I wanted a one dish meal. I would have added peas if I had them. I like a lot of sauce so I increased the broth to 2 cups. I used half and half instead of cream and put in 1 cup half and half and 1 cup of yogurt. I served it all over steamed rice. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Made this exactly as shown except I added golden raisins. Once it was "finished" it was too runny so I turned it up and reduced it. I also had to add salt because it was a little bland before reducing. Once actually finished, all of my kids liked it a lot. (One even hates Indian food.) My husband and I would have liked more flavor. I will make it again, but i may doctor it a little next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Maybe I had high expectations, but I expected more. I followed the recipe to exactly as written. I felt it needed something, just not sure what...sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
As with all stews/soups, this needs to be made at least a few hours ahead to let the seasonings blend. I did change things a bit. I only used 2 tsp. oil (and added 1/4 cup water to replace the oil.) I simply ground my cashews in a coffee grinder without the water. (I have one set aside for grinding anything but coffee.) I used fresh ginger paste and a garlic press for the garlic. Therefore, I didn't have to clean my food processor. I added 2 1/2 cups more low-sodium chicken broth and 1/4 cup cornstarch to give it more sauce. I used milk instead of cream fat-free yogurt. I also added golden raisins. I served it atop basmati rice alongside steamed peas. I garnished it with fresh chopped cilantro & sliced almonds. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Last week I ate at a new Indian restaurant in Kent, Washington and had this. Liking it I wanted to make it for myself. I followed the recipe for the most part, but used coconut milk. If you don't like it spicy use less of the chili powder. It is spicy, but not too spicy. Ate it over Jasmine rice. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lance Mertz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park River, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Great Indian taste. I sauteed the chicken separately then added the chicken in the end, so the chicken didn't dry out. I doubled the spices including the ginger and garlic. I used milk instead of heavy cream. I found the heavy cream really unnecessary, since the korma was already rich enough. I didn't bother to crumble the bay leaves; just use whole bay leaves and remove the leaves afterward. The heat of the korma is great on a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yokidneybean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
recipe is good..however..to make this taste a bit more authentic, add 1 teaspoon of salt and for a real kick...add 1 tablespoon of chopped hot greeen chili peppers... it is mouthwatering..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
My husband liked this a lot but it's a little bland for me. I would add more spices to make it more flavourful. I added potatoes, carrots, and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Pretty good! I doubled the amount of onion and also added 3 fresh cloves of garlic (diced) while the tomato sauce simmered in addition to the crushed garlic that's called for in the recipe. I doubled the amount of veggies - I love using peas because they add such a light sweetness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krishan

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States