Chicken Korma II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Although I've been eating Indian food for over 30 years, this was my first venture in cooking it. I have to say it was ok. I prefer a bit more spice and thought the recipe lacked the deep flavors of India. Tamarind paste and a rayta would have gone a long way. Also, maybe cloves and whole coriander. That all said, it wasn't bad, just didn't seem authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This is a straight forward, great recipe; and I tried it merely upon it being highly rated. I admit I tweaked it abit and thought that, for what its worth, I'd share what I did to the recipe etc. I love flavour when it comes to curries! One can certainly get away with being very generous with the ginger, garlic, garam, cumin, turmeric and the coriander!! However, I used cayenne pepper instead of the listed chilli powder (which is splitting hairs). I also added a good amount of cinnamon to the sauce. If one forgets Bay leaves, don't worry - but like someone else mentioned, don't crush them if you're going to use some. Instead of cream, I used coconut milk. I also threw in a small pad of butter just to assist with the chicken cooking, plus it adds extra flavour. The 'secret' to any sauce is to allow it to simmer and marinade, which will help it reduce too, therefore thicken on its own; so no real need for the corn starch, imo. Most curries I've encountered in the US tend to disappoint, but, this one certainly hit the mark and reminded me of being back in the UK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
this is the best recipe ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Fantastic! Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Absolutely great! I've cooked this so many times, and it's always beautiful. I don't change anything either. Works equally well with Vegetables if you don't eat meat. Really quick and easy, particularly if you have a small blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
We loved this recipe! I have never eaten chicken Korma though, but my Indian neighbor who cooks from scratch everyday said it was good. :-) I followed Tiffany's advice and seasoned the meat the night before with some of the the spices listed on the recipe & some salt. I added 1.5 times the amount of spices (except bay leaf & turmeric). Since I don't have Indian chili, I will add 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne pepper next time. I increased the garlic to 5 cloves, the ginger to 1 inch, 1/2 cup of cashews (1/4 ground and 1/4 whole) and I used 1 cup of coconut milk instead of the heavy cream and yogurt. I added more salt at the end and I didn't bother putting the coconut milk in the food processor. I also didn't crumble the bay leaf. Thanks to Trina & all the awesome reviewers, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Good flavour, but a little very mild. Next time will add more spices. Will make again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalynn Sinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
For those who like a creamy and spicier korma, I would suggest adding more cream and chili pepper. i even put in some sriracha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
OMG this was delicious! Even my husband really enjoyed it! I followed the directions exactly and served over cinnamon-scented basmati rice (throw a cin stick in while the rice cooks). I went back for seconds, which I rarely do at dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by archie8kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I thought this was a great recipe! I had never made Indian food before, but have had it plenty. This was relatively easy and had great results. I doubled the sauce and added carrots and potatoes. I also did a tbs of each spice instead of 2 tsp when doubling as other reviewers said it needed more flavor. Served over brown basmati rice with cilantro in it. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States