Chicken Korma II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I loved this recipe! But it is much simpler and just as good if you can cut out some steps. It is so quick and easy! Instead of processing my own garlic and ginger paste which can be time consuming and messy, I picked up some garlic paste and ginger paste at a local Indian grocer. I used 1/4 teaspoon garlic paste and 1/8 teaspoon ginger paste (don't use too much ginger paste because the taste can be very overpowering!). Also, instead of boiling the water for the cashews (cutting out some steps here!), I just crushed up the cashews in a paper towel and put it in after the liquids were poured in and just let it cook. You can also substitute the cream with low fat coconut milk and it turned out GREAT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This dish was as good as any chicken Korma I have had in an Indian restaurant. Two things to note, I used fat free coconut milk in place of half and half. Also, several reviewers mentioned that it was a very mild dish. Well, Indian Chili powder is not the same as Mexican and is, in fact,very hot. It can be purchased at an Indian food store. The brand I use is Rajah. It makes a huge difference to the flavor, but use it sparingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Very good. After the first night, I'd originally intended to give this recipe 4 stars and write, "Nice complex flavors, but too mild for my tastes. Still good, and something I wouldn't be surprised to be served at a real Indian restaurant." But the leftovers were even better! I guess sitting for a day gave the flavors time to coalesce and assert themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe! It tastes just like what the restaurants serve. Here are my suggestions: First, I suggest that you season the chicken pieces to taste ( it really doesn’t have to be breast ) with some salt, cilantro, cumin, garam masala and ginger and leave in the fridge for about 4-6 hours. This way the flavor goes right through the meat. Second, add 1.5 times the amount of spices(except the bay leaf) the recipe calls for when you are ready to fry in the oil This really gives it a nice spicy taste. Thirdly, people complained that the sauce was watery. I don’t understand why! The trick is to simmer the sauce to your liking. The longer you simmer, the thicker the sauce will become. Fourth, add 1 finely chopped jalapeno pepper (with about 1/4of the seeds) to the sauce to give it that extra kick. Finally serve this rich sauce over saffron jasmine rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
This was good, but nothing spectacular. It's not as thick and creamy as most kormas. I would highly NOT recommend crumbling the bay leaves as in the recipe... it would be better to just leave them whole and then remove them later. As it was we had to keep spitting out these little crunchy pieces. I used 2.5 tsp garam masala, 1/4 tsp. cayenne, 4 bay leaves, and coconut milk rather than heavy cream (maybe that's why it wasn't as thick as it should be?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
Though it doesn't taste like the traditional Chicken Korma I'm used to ordering at Indian restaurants, it is a very nice curry dish. I've made it with raw chicken or for a quicker meal I shred roasted chicken from the store and I have even replaced the chicken with potatoes, peas and diced carrots and use vegetable broth for the vegetarian nieces. Easy to modify the spices for your own tastes - we always throw in a little cayenne. I do not use the bay leaves, nor process the garlic and ginger but instead brown them with the onion. Following another raters advice I do occasionally add raisins and they are a nice touch. To keep the dish light I use 1 cup of plain yogurt and skip the cream. We also typically serve it over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sola
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
Really delicious and different. I subbed ground ginger and used a garlic press, so there wasn't any need to process them together. I didn't have any bay leaves or turmeric, but I think it was fine without. I also didn't grind up the cashews, just left them chopped. I used fat-free sour cream instead of yogurt, and for the heavy cream, I subbed 1/3 cup skim milk and a few tablspoons of margarine. This probably made it considerably more healthy, and the dish was still very creamy. At the end of the cooktime, I mixed brown basmati rice right into the chicken mixture, and it was delicious. My husband ate the leftovers in tortillas the next day and said it tasted even better after having time to sit. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
This was very good. I really liked the idea of the ground cashews. I did make this a low fat version by substituting cream for low fat evaporated milk and low fat yogurt. I did not need the cornflour as the evaporated milk "thickens" with heat - perfect! Thanks Kira, curry's have never been a strong point for me, maybe my luck is changing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
Very good and flavorful! I kept everything the same, except I only did 2 chicken breasts (I just like less meat) and sauteed the bay leaves, then took them out, instead of leaving them in. I also added a few extra sprinkles of garam masala. I used low-fat yogurt. At first, my kids (ages 2 and 4) wouldn't try it, but after a little bit they did, and then they couldn't get enough!! They loved it!! My daughter kept saying "I want just a little more of the rice and sauce." I served with brown basmati rice and steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
This is super yummy and not too hard to make! I used half & half instead of cream. Very similar to the korma I get at my favorite Indian restaurant. I really liked how the cashews gave the sauce a nutty flavor/texture. I will definitely be making this one again soon for me & my roomates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States