Chicken Korma II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I'm white with a low tolerance for spice, but I thought it could use more. I used precooked, seasoned chicken (previously made & frozen) and it was still wonderful. Used 4-5 deboned chicken thighs, and it was just right for the amount of chicken called for. Might have used a bit more. I also ground up the cashews with the ginger/garlic (accidentally) and had an almond/cashew mix. Boyfriend (who is Indian) really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This was not a good chicken korma. I wouldn't even call it that. It was very a very bland, marinated chicken dish. It did not have the flavors that I would expect from an Indian dish. My husband thought it was still OK on its own, but I will not be making it again. Too labor-intensive for such a bland, uncharacteristic dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kidcallous
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I am a spice person, I want food to burn me when I'm eating it. And, never being one to follow the rules, I did make some amendments to the spices in this recipe, and added a few extra ingredients to "make it my own". I used an extra clove of garlic, a bigger piece of ginger, and "heaped" the dry spice measurements. rather than using chili powder, I used 1/2 heaping tsp of chili powder, and 1 tsp of cayenne pepper to kick up the heat. I also added some red pepper flakes and about 1 tsp of salt. In the last 5 minutes, I added whole cashews and raisins - about 1/4 cup of each. I garnished with fresh chopped cilantro and cashews. Served this with Basmati rice that had been cooked with whole cloves and a cinnamon stick. My husband said that it was the best curry type dish he's ever eaten. Great base recipe for someone like me who likes to "tinker". I will DEFINATELY make this again! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kidcallous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Loved this dish! I followed recipe as written and served it with jasmine rice, apple chutney and store bought naan. Was a beautiful and delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatsworth, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dalton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This is an O.K. chicken dish. If you want Indian food, do not make it. It doesn't taste like Chicken korma, and it's a lot of work too. My husband and I were disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe -- and so did my husband and 1 1/2 year-old son. I followed some suggestions by previous reviewers and kept the bay leaves whole and also by putting the cashews directly in the dish. It turned out great! I have a lot of sauce leftover that I am going to use over rice for a quick lunch. I felt like it could use a touch of salt so I will be adding that the next time I make this. I served with chapati bread and basmati rice. Great submission, Trina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I thought this recipe was quite bland. I'm not sure if I am so used to spicy Indian food, but it really had no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Great Recipe! I add golden raisins, slivered almonds and garnish with fresh cilantro - just like my favorite Indian restaurant. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Very good.. my friends loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NBRNINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
The spice mix was wonderful, but we needed to add salt, then it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mandan, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States