Chicken Korma II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Tastes just like Shandhar hut!! Might add a bit of Cayenne next time just to heat things up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I did this in the crock pot (slow cooker) and my partner loved it! Was the closest thing to bought takeaway versions but with the extra kick that I always think bought versions lack. Alterations included: adding roughly chopped cashews in with the spices and onions at the start and cooking on high for an hour until brown before adding the rest of the ingredients, omitting the water and cream but substituting them with light coconut milk. After 4-5 hours the chicken was so tender and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buckinz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Great Recipe! I ran out of Vegetable oil so I used olive oil. Added Cayenne Pepper and extra Chili Powder. Used minced Garlic and put the ginger in a garlic press. Did not crumble Bay Leaves as recommended. Added some salt. To make it a little healthier I used Low Fat Evaporated Milk. Those are the few things I changed. It is soupy but over rice it was good. Thank you for the recipe!! Delicious!!! Great Flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This was descent....I doubled all the spices and still found it pretty bland. I thought Indian food was supposed to have tons of flavor?!?! Following the directions would have turned out not good! I used fresh ground garam masala that i got from a friend and left out the pistachios all together b/c my husband hates nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I recommend mixing all the spices (plus some cayenne) and seasoning the chicken early in the day. Let sit in the fridge before cooking, then let the finished product sit for an hour or so to let the spices mingle. I added half the chicken broth and none of the water from the cashews. Also, I skipped the cornstarch mix and it was plenty thick. My husband loved it and said he wouldn't change a thing. Very restaurant tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Very easy and the curry is tasty. The ease gives it 4 stars. For some reason, I didn't find the spicy/flavor to catch into the meat itself, but the taste of the curry itself is good. Used ginger and garlic paste, as we always have it at home. I also did not soak the cashews and nor use any water. I also omitted the bay leaf. Topped with chopped cilantro. I did not find this curry watery and did not end up using the corn starch. This was not mild for us, as all our spices come from the Indian store itself and are spicy-full!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I just made this, and we liked it! I substituted peanuts for the cashews and table cream for the heavy cream, because that's what we had. Also, we did not have "masala" so I put some "asian spice" along with nutmeg and cinnamon and I feel that it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I don't know if this is supposed to be Americanized, but it's quite bland. It tasted fine, it just lacked the flavorfulness of good Indian. At the very least, I'd add 1/8 tsp of cayenne next time. It was also too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I thought the flavors in this were OK but the sauce came out very thin. Next time I will leave out the chicken broth and only add it at the end if I need more liquid. I still gave it a 4, because overall I liked it and it could be that I made a mistake, since I doubled it. I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I've never had chicken korma, so I'm not sure what it was supposed to taste like, but I do know that this is a very good dish. Other reviewers commented that it was a little mild (and the submitter refers to it that way in her description as well) so I doubled all the spices except the turmeric. I also replaced the heavy cream with evaporated milk. I tasted it when it was done and felt it needed a little sweetness so I added a little sugar and a couple of tablespoons of sweeted coconut. Next time I will just use coconut milk in place of the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States