Chicken Korma II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Fabulous! Switched cream to coconut milk. Added 1tsp cinnamon and 1tsp curry powder. Added more cashew nuts insetad of corn starch. Really easy if you buy ginger and garlic pastes. This is very very close to eating out - and so much more affordable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This recipe did not taste like the chicken korma that I anticipated (that which is served in Indian restaurants). It took me 2 hours to prepare it, start to finish, and I don't consider myself a novice in the kitchen. The flavor overall was just okay. I will not be making this again. (The only variation I made to the recipe was substituting fat free half and half for the heavy cream.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Everyone loved it, including 4 year old and 7 year old. Added fresh sliced peppers. Used FF half n half instead of heavy cream. Used sour cream instead of yogurt. Used ketchup instead of tomato paste. Don't crumble bay leaves. Maybe try cashew butter next time, cashews were a pain in the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I give this a 4 star rating ONLY because we made this exactly with exception of cashews. The flavor was good but not very strong. Just enough to notice a slight taste. I just read some other reviews and agree that the spices amount is not enough. Will retry this again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Centerview, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
The dish wasnt too complex to make and came out good. One of the users said he used coconut milk instead of cream, i think i'll try that next time. Flavor was good. Could use more ground cashew (that would also help thicken), I also added rasins and whole cashews towards the end. I added more of all the spices and added more cornstarch slurry to thicken it a little more. I also added a little curry, and toasted all of the spices before adding, that can really bring out the flavor and aroma of the spices. Will experiment a little more with this one and maybe marinate the meat in some of the spices for a night
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe! It tastes just like what the restaurants serve. Here are my suggestions: First, I suggest that you season the chicken pieces to taste ( it really doesn’t have to be breast ) with some salt, cilantro, cumin, garam masala and ginger and leave in the fridge for about 4-6 hours. This way the flavor goes right through the meat. Second, add 1.5 times the amount of spices(except the bay leaf) the recipe calls for when you are ready to fry in the oil This really gives it a nice spicy taste. Thirdly, people complained that the sauce was watery. I don’t understand why! The trick is to simmer the sauce to your liking. The longer you simmer, the thicker the sauce will become. Fourth, add 1 finely chopped jalapeno pepper (with about 1/4of the seeds) to the sauce to give it that extra kick. Finally serve this rich sauce over saffron jasmine rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This was the first indian food I have ever cooked. My family and I LOVED it. The only thing I changed was the cornstarch. I added a 1/4 cup of finely ground cashews as the thickener. (In reading reviews on here someone else suggested it) It really gave the dis the texture I am used to in indian food. I am making it tomorrow for my works christmas party. Thanks for the amazing recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeadowB
Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Grand Ronde, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Wonderful taste! If you have a Pujabi grocery nearby you can buy the ginger and garlic in a paste form. Use teaspoon of paste and three teaspoons of garlic. I did not use the bay leaf and be careful with the chili powder (mexican chili powder is far weaker, so if you are using indian spices the chili powder is very potent) Went with the recommendation to use coconut milk instead of heavy cream and yogurt and omitted the cornstarch. This was delish and the gravy was pefect with Naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Okay recipe, but not so amazing that I'm running out to get the ingredients to make this again. Just expected a lot more flavor from all the delicious aromas that came from this as it was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Even only making this recipe halfway, it tasted great. I left out the ginger and the cashew-cream sauce, and merely cooked the chicken in spices, tomato sauce, and broth. I also added the yogurt in when I was ready to eat, so that I could get a nice contrast of hot and cold. Very good. Next time, I would try it with the sauce and sub coconut milk for the cream, as a few reviewers suggest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States