Chicken Korma II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
Very good and flavorful! I kept everything the same, except I only did 2 chicken breasts (I just like less meat) and sauteed the bay leaves, then took them out, instead of leaving them in. I also added a few extra sprinkles of garam masala. I used low-fat yogurt. At first, my kids (ages 2 and 4) wouldn't try it, but after a little bit they did, and then they couldn't get enough!! They loved it!! My daughter kept saying "I want just a little more of the rice and sauce." I served with brown basmati rice and steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
My partner and I LOVED this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
Hubby and I loved this dish. A warm, spicy, tasty meal on an unusually cold spring day. And the aroma while cooking was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
Though it doesn't taste like the traditional Chicken Korma I'm used to ordering at Indian restaurants, it is a very nice curry dish. I've made it with raw chicken or for a quicker meal I shred roasted chicken from the store and I have even replaced the chicken with potatoes, peas and diced carrots and use vegetable broth for the vegetarian nieces. Easy to modify the spices for your own tastes - we always throw in a little cayenne. I do not use the bay leaves, nor process the garlic and ginger but instead brown them with the onion. Following another raters advice I do occasionally add raisins and they are a nice touch. To keep the dish light I use 1 cup of plain yogurt and skip the cream. We also typically serve it over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
I was not...as was my family were not fans of this. It seems to be missing a 'kick'. The texture was a little off as well. We are not big Indian food fans and maybe this dish just helped to prove that fact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
Incredible recipe! Definitely better if rewarmed, just as a previous reviewer mentioned. I added about 1/4 cup raisins--if you've never tried these curry/turmeric/masala/etc. dishes with raisins, this authentic Indian twist makes the finished product have a little sweetness that truly marries with the flavor. I served it over brown rice with a pinch of salt and crushed red pepper for the spice lovers. I will definitely be adding this to my permanent recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Very good. After the first night, I'd originally intended to give this recipe 4 stars and write, "Nice complex flavors, but too mild for my tastes. Still good, and something I wouldn't be surprised to be served at a real Indian restaurant." But the leftovers were even better! I guess sitting for a day gave the flavors time to coalesce and assert themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
This is a great recipe, but I added a half teaspoon more of both the garam masala and chili powder. I also added approximately a quarter cup of shredded coconut and 2 teaspoons of sugar to the cream/yogurt/cashew mixture. Very good, our favorite indian dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
Easy to make. I would make it a little more spicy next time and add some peas or other vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
I used boneless chicken thighs instead of breasts (we're a dark meat family) and loved the tenderness of the chicken pieces. My kids didn't quite go for the curry flavor, but my husband and I thought it was quite good. . . .especially served up with some homemade naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States