Chicken Korma II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I was stationed in Germany and we would always eat at this Indian place. My husband and I miss that place so much! We crave it all the time! They had a dish just like this! I think this tasted exactly like that. The only thing missing was the tea and the nann.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine Stone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I thought this was pretty bland.For me Indian food is all about the explosion of flavors. I love its depth. Unfortunately, this did not have it. If I make it again I'll probably triple the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goffstown, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Tried this with tofu and vegetables, which came out with a strong smell of spices yet bland. Might be better with chicken and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daly City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This was pretty tasty, but I couldn't get over the appearance! It looked like, well, I don't know how to put this lightly, the color of baby poop. There, I said it. I have had lamb korma at our local Indian resaurant and this didn't taste much like it, but like I said, it was pretty tasty. I will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LODOM42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Not sure what I did wrong but mine turned out very watery and quite bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
With a few tweaks, this was easily the best chicken Korma I have ever tasted. As written it was too bland for our tastes, and I ended up adding quite a lot more spice (not the chilli powder though - Korma isn't supposed to be spicy). The only other changes I made were to omit the cornstarch - it was plenty thick already. Also, I just roughly chopped the cashews, and threw them in. This was absolutely amazing served over basmati rice with paratha. Thanks, Trina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
mmmMMM!!!! This is a great curry recipe to take on. Very rewarding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somecookin'

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I tripled the spices for this recipe, but it still didn't have much flavor. Also, it tasted more pakistani than indian to me. It was okay, but wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
The flavor of this Chicken Korma is five stars. My hubby and daughter both raved about it, but we all adore Indian food. I did simplify as others suggested. I didn't put the cashews in water, just chopped them up very fine and stirred them right before I added the yogurt. Instead of pureeing garlic cloves and fresh ginger root, I used jarred minced garlic and ginger paste. I skipped the bay leaves. I sauteed the spices for 1 minute before adding the chicken. I used all plain yogurt rather than the half cup of heavy cream and put in about a tablespoon of Smart Balance at the very end. Also threw in a handful of raisins to help balance the spiciness. Served it over basmati rice. Will make sure I have some naan to go with it next time to soak up all the yummy sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Curtis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Very bland for us. I'll double the spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by limey
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States