Chicken Korma II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I'd give it a four as it is a great base to start with but not perfect "right out of the box". I stuck to the recipe the first go around with the exception of adding corn starch to achieve a thick gravy, another 1/2c of yogurt and 1.5 times the spices to compensate the additional yogurt. (i just wanted more gravy). However, for the next batch i will be quadrupling the amount of cashews...there was no hint of them at all and I think the cashews are critical to a good Korma. Also needs salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I followed the recipe as written, and it was very, very mild with little flavor. Next time, I will probably add a little hot pepper in with the onions at the beginning and, at a minimum, double all of the spice amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I added 1 red and 1 green pepper, and green beans. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I've made this recipe several times now, and although the original ingredients produce a wonderful result, I found that, for my own taste and that of my kitchen produce devotees, making a few changes has literally put the "cherry on top" for us! The changes/additions I made are as follows ... Instead of cashews I used smashed up flaked almonds (around 2-4mm pieces). I included around 20g of dessicated coconut per portion (used together with the smashed almonds). Instead of cornflower, I used pre-cooked, buttered mashed potato to thicken the sauce. Instead of water I used coconut milk. I added a tin of chopped tomatoes. I also allowed enough time to gently brown the onions at the beginning to add another detectable dimension. Then the secret ingredient ... one generous tablespoon of apricot jam (to add a deep richness, try adding this in while sealing the meat and allow to slightly caramelise, or nearer the end for straightforward sweetness). That's it, but mind you, I was cooking for 8, so you'll need to scale-up the amount of chicken to suit. Thanks Trina, you gave me a brilliant head start on a really successful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
There is something missing from this recipe, coconut milk perhaps. It was ok, but nothing like what we get at the local Indian restaurant. I even added more spices, but still thought it was bland. I think it needs to sit for a day for the flavors to blend more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This was wonderful! I followed the recipe to the letter, as I always do the first time I try something. The only thing I will do differently next time is to let it simmer for about 20 minutes more, on the lowest heat setting. I had a second helping 20-30 minutes after it had finished cooking, and the extra time just pushed it right over the top. Still excellent with 15 minutes of simmering though, if you don't have time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This is a wonderful recipe...I am still overdoing the Chilli powder as I use genuine Indian Spices so my dish was not mild but rather spicy! Love it nevertheless. Added fresh tomatoes and a few cashew nita to give the dish more texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Second time making this recipe . Absolutely lovely. Substituted chicken breast for drumsticks, and left the bay leaf whole. Added a little salt to the dish. Served with basmati rice and raita . Would do it again. Probably on of my favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
This was so delicious. I bet it will even be better the next day. Only thing from keeping me from "loving" it is that it was not spicy at all. I added a little dash of cayenne, but that wasn't enough. Next time I will add a teaspoon to give it that Indian spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Hubbie said he really liked it. I thought it just a tad bland when compared to the Vegetarian Korma recipe from this site. I did add a jalapeno bc i had one I needed to use up and I had to sub arrowroot powder for the corn starch bc I was out. Think I will use chicken thighs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States