Chicken Kiev Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Followed the recipe but added a small amount of lemon zest from the fresh lemon. After mixing the butter mixture I poured it into a foil-shaped structure and froze it--easy to cut and place on chicken breast later. Be careful not to flatten too much or tear the chicken breast when pounding. I used Panko crumbs, browned in oil on top of stove, and then baked for about 25 minutes at 375°. Looked beautiful and tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
This tasted amazing, but was frustrating to make. I struggled to keep the butter mixture from oozing out of the sides of the chicken. In the end it turned out great though. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
After reading reviews - I chose 2 variations ... I filleted the breasts and chose baking vs. frying. - This was good! I did premake the butter mix and used any extra for my accompanying rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I gave this recipe 4 stars when in reality it merely gave me a guideline and I took it and ran with it. My butter was from a tub of flavored herb butter I got as a Christmas gift, and I flavored my bread crumbs with seasoned salt. And finally, I took another reviewer's suggestion and merely pan seared in a little oil, to brown and crisp up the crumbs, rather than deep frying, and finished it in the oven. I've never made chicken kiev where the butter didn't completely leak, but cooking it in a small pan and spooning the liquid butter over the finished chicken was pretty darn delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
For a healthier recipe, I rolled the chicken breasts in organic wholemeal flour which I seasoned with a pinch of salt and pepper. Also, found the chicken breasts tasted a little bland, so I seasoned the chicken with a tinge of salt and pepper before I inserted the butter pieces. Baking did not appeal to me as it meant waiting a long time for the meal. So I pan fried the chicken breasts on medium heat and it was wonderful. By the way, for low sodium content, I used Himalayan rock salt. It is a better idea to flatten the chicken breasts and then slice a small pocket inside to house the butter piece. That way, you can be assured that the butter will not ooze out during cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was extremely good! I made more butter then was called for in order to double stuff the chicken. Turned out great and it was extremely buttery inside! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cm28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Very tasty! In an effort to cut back on fat, I fried them in about 1/4 cup of canola oil just to seal edges and brown slightly, then removed to a baking pan and finished in oven. I have also just sprinkled the chives and parsley (dried) on the salted and peppered breasts and added a pat of cold butter then rolled up when in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Good taste for butter filling, another option is tarragon instead of chives (or basil) Also blending a loaf of italian bread to make crumbs instead of dried crumbs is good too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lee, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
this is the first time that I ever made this dish, I diidn't fry it, I drizzled with olive oil and baked it at moderate heat for about 25 minutes. It's very good and not at all greasy like I thought it would be. I used a mixture of Italian bread crumbs and panko crumbs and so it was really crispy. Thanks for a great recipe. I would have rated this 5 stars, but never having it beofre, I had nothing to compare it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I would have to say this recipe was much better than the 'real' Chicken Kiev I tasted in Kiev, Ukraine!! We cut the lemon off our tree right before we juiced it and what a wonderful flavor and aroma it added! I love anything with lemon in it and lemon definitely added a refreshing flavor to this recipe. It makes a HUGE difference when you use fresh lemon juice vs. bottled juice. You will definitely notice the difference and will be so happy with the result. Also, if you are short on time to chill the butter mixture, consider putting it in the freezer for a bit then take it out & slice the butter as you prepare the chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desert Moon

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Kiev

A classic and impressive chicken dish with a secret surprise inside.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Chef John's Chicken French

See how to make tender, tasty chicken in a simple wine and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States