Chicken Kiev Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
Make sure you flatten the chicken very thin or you'll have difficulty rolling it into a neat packet. I used a seasoned bread crumb mixture I had on hand and probably should have stuck with the recipe. The herb/butter mixture deserves the 5 stars in this recipe! Very good...will definately try again sticking a little closer to the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Excellent! Chicken kiev is always time consuming to prepare but is worth it if you use some TLC. Shape the butter into logs and freeze before using, easier to stuff the breast and less likely to leak out while cooking. I added 1 tbls lemon zest to the butter to increase the lemon flavor. After assembling if you have time, put the chicken in the fridge for an hour, this lets the seam set and greatly reduces the chances of the butter leaking out. Instead of deep fat frying, I browned the breasts in a skillet in olive oil and butter than baked for 20-30 minutes. They also freeze beautifully so make a double batch and freeze one batch so you can enjoy them quicker the next time. Just add 5-15 minutes to the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2000
This recipe is exceptional for adult company. I fileted the chicken breasts rather than pounding them and they were DIVINE! We will have these again for sure! Oh, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
The best chicken kiev I've ever had in my life!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
This is Chicken Kiev as I remember it done right! Thanks a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
I'd never tried making Chicken Kiev before, but the recipe turned out better than I've ever eaten! I highly recommend this, as long as you have a couple of hours to spare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
This recipe was great. The preperation was a little lengthy but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
Beginner cook and this was excellent. I added a touch (two leaves of basil)to the recipe. Be sure to flatten breasts to about 1/4 inch else they don't cook sufficiently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Wow, just delish! I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe. It took me awhile to be sure the chicken was completely cooked, but with thinner chicken breasts I think I'd get a better end result, but besides that, it was very yummy and a big hit with my mom! ;) Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Berry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
enjoyed this recipe however i did not taste very much lemon flavour, i will make it again and next time i may add some different spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Kiev

A classic and impressive chicken dish with a secret surprise inside.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States