Chicken Kiev Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Excellent! Chicken kiev is always time consuming to prepare but is worth it if you use some TLC. Shape the butter into logs and freeze before using, easier to stuff the breast and less likely to leak out while cooking. I added 1 tbls lemon zest to the butter to increase the lemon flavor. After assembling if you have time, put the chicken in the fridge for an hour, this lets the seam set and greatly reduces the chances of the butter leaking out. Instead of deep fat frying, I browned the breasts in a skillet in olive oil and butter than baked for 20-30 minutes. They also freeze beautifully so make a double batch and freeze one batch so you can enjoy them quicker the next time. Just add 5-15 minutes to the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
Prior to using a recipe from this web page I like to read the reviews. I took a few things into account, like not lemoney enough and to filet the chicken breasts. I did not have fresh herbs so I used dried ones and added one more tsp of lemon juice. I also prefer my chicken kiev baked so I added some extra virgin olive oil to the bread crumbs prior to the coating step. I then baked for 30 minutes at 350 degrees. They were so good my 5 and 3 year olds made up a new word to describe how good this was. My husband thought they were better than the store bought brands...definitely will make these again....They were a big Valentine's Day HIT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RussellC
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Good when stuffed and baked. I've never had good luck flattening chicken evenly so I cut a slit and pocket in each breast and pushed, squeezed or otherwise injected the butter/chive/parsely mixture in the pocket. It didn't leak out and still kept the chicken moist. It looks very impressive when done and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Delicious! I added some dill to the bread crumbs, and opted to bake rather than fry (375 degrees F / 190 degrees C for 30 to 40 minutes) for a healthier version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherFG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
Make sure you flatten the chicken very thin or you'll have difficulty rolling it into a neat packet. I used a seasoned bread crumb mixture I had on hand and probably should have stuck with the recipe. The herb/butter mixture deserves the 5 stars in this recipe! Very good...will definately try again sticking a little closer to the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
Beginner cook and this was excellent. I added a touch (two leaves of basil)to the recipe. Be sure to flatten breasts to about 1/4 inch else they don't cook sufficiently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
I'd never tried making Chicken Kiev before, but the recipe turned out better than I've ever eaten! I highly recommend this, as long as you have a couple of hours to spare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
This is Chicken Kiev as I remember it done right! Thanks a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
The best chicken kiev I've ever had in my life!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
My mother used to make this when I was a little girl and we always loved it. I made this for her birthday dinner this year and it was awesome. I made these changes though: *used tarragon instead of chives (so yummy) *added 2 tsp of minced garlic to butter *after rolling, I refrigerated them overnight and they set real well. When I was ready to cook them, I put them on a wire rack on a baking sheet and sprayed them with cooking spray. Then baked them at 375 for 30 minutes. It was awesome...so yummy. And they didn't leak! I rolled them into logs like someone else suggested and also placed them seam side up. Only problem was how to flatten the chicken without tearing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Kiev

A classic and impressive chicken dish with a secret surprise inside.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States