Chicken Kiev Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
It definitely needs something – some kind of sauce with it. The breading could use a little kick as well. Is there such a thing as strongly bland? Perhaps my expectations were too high. I’m going to have to play with it a little more before I can say I would serve it to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Estee Fraser (Pinchasin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Dupont, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
The taste was sensational, but I am such a klutz when it comes to rolling up chicken breasts. I filet them, pound them thin, but it never looks like the pictures. I used fresh lemon peel, garlic, chives, parsley with the butter, it was so tasty. This recipe is definetely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Thank you so much for this recipe. I always looked forward to eating this dish when went out to eat, now I have an awesome recipe for Chicken Kiev that a restaraunt would have a hard time beating!! Everyone loved it. The only suggestion I would make is that fileting would probably make it a little easier. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Simple, elegant and worth the fuss. Read the reviews - the second one in particular is helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
I wish that I had read the reviews before I made this dish, but I was in a hurry. As written, this is a 3-star recipe and not worth the effort. If I make these again, I will filet the breasts or bake in the oven as others have suggested. Mine took anywhere from 12-15 minutes to cook and were nearly burnt on the outside. I will also use lemon zest instead of lemon juice. I used real butter and could not get the lemon juice to incorporate into the butter. This might be okay to try again with some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
It was OK. I have an old recipe, but it is quite time consuming. I was hoping for a quick way to a delicious end. Really good Chicken Kiev takes time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
What, no garlic? I don't like mine rolled in bread crumbs, but simply egg wash and flour to fill the seams so the butter doesn't leak. Just before cooking, try rolling them in eggwash again and roll in Panko. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I baked it instead of frying it and just drizzled a little bit of Olive Oil on top before cooking to help with the browning. I also didn't use an egg wash, I just used Skim Milk instead. And also used a less fat butter. All to make it a little healthier. I also used more seasoning then the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I made this recipe for a family potluck and everyone absolutely loved it! Just a little time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
My mother used to make this when I was a little girl and we always loved it. I made this for her birthday dinner this year and it was awesome. I made these changes though: *used tarragon instead of chives (so yummy) *added 2 tsp of minced garlic to butter *after rolling, I refrigerated them overnight and they set real well. When I was ready to cook them, I put them on a wire rack on a baking sheet and sprayed them with cooking spray. Then baked them at 375 for 30 minutes. It was awesome...so yummy. And they didn't leak! I rolled them into logs like someone else suggested and also placed them seam side up. Only problem was how to flatten the chicken without tearing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Kiev

A classic and impressive chicken dish with a secret surprise inside.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States