Chicken Kiev Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
this is the first time that I ever made this dish, I diidn't fry it, I drizzled with olive oil and baked it at moderate heat for about 25 minutes. It's very good and not at all greasy like I thought it would be. I used a mixture of Italian bread crumbs and panko crumbs and so it was really crispy. Thanks for a great recipe. I would have rated this 5 stars, but never having it beofre, I had nothing to compare it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I would have to say this recipe was much better than the 'real' Chicken Kiev I tasted in Kiev, Ukraine!! We cut the lemon off our tree right before we juiced it and what a wonderful flavor and aroma it added! I love anything with lemon in it and lemon definitely added a refreshing flavor to this recipe. It makes a HUGE difference when you use fresh lemon juice vs. bottled juice. You will definitely notice the difference and will be so happy with the result. Also, if you are short on time to chill the butter mixture, consider putting it in the freezer for a bit then take it out & slice the butter as you prepare the chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desert Moon

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by RussellC
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Good when stuffed and baked. I've never had good luck flattening chicken evenly so I cut a slit and pocket in each breast and pushed, squeezed or otherwise injected the butter/chive/parsely mixture in the pocket. It didn't leak out and still kept the chicken moist. It looks very impressive when done and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Fantastic! I didn't have chives on hand, so I used parsley, basil and garlic to season the butter. Wrong? Maybe, but it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazard, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Delicious! I added some dill to the bread crumbs, and opted to bake rather than fry (375 degrees F / 190 degrees C for 30 to 40 minutes) for a healthier version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherFG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
wooooooooooooooooooow gr8& easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancika_mastika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
The directions made this complicated recipe easy to follow. I also sauteed the kievs in olive oil before baking them at 350 for 20 minutes--came out perfectly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Plenty of work to make, and LOTS of calories to work off, but this really is soooooo good. I followed the recipe and it was wonderful! Great for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
It was okay. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I really loved the flavor of this! I sprinkled some garlic powder on the chx breasts with the salt and pepper and I seasoned the bread crumbs with some lemon pepper and all-purpose galic-greek seasoning. I didn't fry mine in a deep-frier. I fried it in a pan over low heat...I think next time I might bake it. It's so pretty when you cut into and the herbed butter oozes out of it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Kiev

A classic and impressive chicken dish with a secret surprise inside.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States