Chicken Kiev Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I agree it is time consuming but in the long run loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
What I did was make a pocket and stuffed the herbed butter in it, secured it with toothpick, proceeded to bread it, fry and finished in the oven. Remember to pierce the chicken in the pointed tip to let the "pressure" out before serving. Bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Followed the recipe but added a small amount of lemon zest from the fresh lemon. After mixing the butter mixture I poured it into a foil-shaped structure and froze it--easy to cut and place on chicken breast later. Be careful not to flatten too much or tear the chicken breast when pounding. I used Panko crumbs, browned in oil on top of stove, and then baked for about 25 minutes at 375°. Looked beautiful and tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
This tasted amazing, but was frustrating to make. I struggled to keep the butter mixture from oozing out of the sides of the chicken. In the end it turned out great though. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
After reading reviews - I chose 2 variations ... I filleted the breasts and chose baking vs. frying. - This was good! I did premake the butter mix and used any extra for my accompanying rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I gave this recipe 4 stars when in reality it merely gave me a guideline and I took it and ran with it. My butter was from a tub of flavored herb butter I got as a Christmas gift, and I flavored my bread crumbs with seasoned salt. And finally, I took another reviewer's suggestion and merely pan seared in a little oil, to brown and crisp up the crumbs, rather than deep frying, and finished it in the oven. I've never made chicken kiev where the butter didn't completely leak, but cooking it in a small pan and spooning the liquid butter over the finished chicken was pretty darn delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
For a healthier recipe, I rolled the chicken breasts in organic wholemeal flour which I seasoned with a pinch of salt and pepper. Also, found the chicken breasts tasted a little bland, so I seasoned the chicken with a tinge of salt and pepper before I inserted the butter pieces. Baking did not appeal to me as it meant waiting a long time for the meal. So I pan fried the chicken breasts on medium heat and it was wonderful. By the way, for low sodium content, I used Himalayan rock salt. It is a better idea to flatten the chicken breasts and then slice a small pocket inside to house the butter piece. That way, you can be assured that the butter will not ooze out during cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was extremely good! I made more butter then was called for in order to double stuff the chicken. Turned out great and it was extremely buttery inside! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cm28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Very tasty! In an effort to cut back on fat, I fried them in about 1/4 cup of canola oil just to seal edges and brown slightly, then removed to a baking pan and finished in oven. I have also just sprinkled the chives and parsley (dried) on the salted and peppered breasts and added a pat of cold butter then rolled up when in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Good taste for butter filling, another option is tarragon instead of chives (or basil) Also blending a loaf of italian bread to make crumbs instead of dried crumbs is good too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lee, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Kiev

A classic and impressive chicken dish with a secret surprise inside.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States