Chicken Kiev Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
We had company over for dinner and this recipe really impressed! After reading the reviews, I fried the chicken like the recipes states, but then baked it in the oven to finish cooking. It seemed like I lost a lot of the butter while it was baking, but there was still plenty left inside. It was also really juicy and flavorful. It was a little time consuming, but this will become a weekly staple in our household. What I liked best was that I already had all the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This is the first time I've made Chicken Kiev where the butter actually stayed in it until it was served! I usually bake it in the over and the butter always leaks out, so maybe the trick is to pan fry it!!! I did use chives instead of the dill, because that's how I've always made it. Next time I will try some of the pieces with the dill as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
OMG Fantastic!!! A bit of work but well worth it. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Ann Uline-Olson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
This is a pretty good recipe but I have always had Kiev made with Tarragon NOT dill. Tarragon lovers should try it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Just to let everyone know - Kyiv is the Ukrainian spelling of the capital of Ukraine and it is not russian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
A low fat version can be made by using cream cheese instead of butter. Spray with oil and bake in oven 25-30 minutes, depending on size
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This is really good when coated with Rice Krispies in place of the bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Logan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I have to agree the recipe was a bit bland and the butter was difficult to contain. I often find many of these recipes bland and in need of more. I always enjoy skinless boneless chicken breast recipes for the health value but all the butter negates this benefit. C'est la vie. I will be trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Garn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I had some trouble getting the chicken breasts to roll up and stay that way, but I blame the chicken I bought for that. This recipe has some pretty good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Found this recipe this morning! Very good! Very easy! The butter froze enough on a dinner plate to roll in the chickennand I added a little parsley and freshly grated garlic to the mix, just as one other commenter posted they had done. I also used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. Following the directions was simple and dinner was a huge success! Thank you! Recipe favorited!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Kiev

A classic and impressive chicken dish with a secret surprise inside.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States