Chicken Kiev Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I had some trouble getting the chicken breasts to roll up and stay that way, but I blame the chicken I bought for that. This recipe has some pretty good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Found this recipe this morning! Very good! Very easy! The butter froze enough on a dinner plate to roll in the chickennand I added a little parsley and freshly grated garlic to the mix, just as one other commenter posted they had done. I also used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. Following the directions was simple and dinner was a huge success! Thank you! Recipe favorited!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I start making this the day before. When I put the butter in the chicken, I wrap it tightly in plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight. It's easier to flour and egg it the next day, because it is firmly set in the rolled shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Wonderful recipe with great flavor! A little time-consuming but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Serve with SOUR CREAM, it tastes awesome with Chicken Kiev.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Third time's the charm. I've tried to make Chicken Kiev before and failed, this time it worked, but not as written. Used Stardust_331's tip about browning, then baking, and Tracy32999: So, they didn't use salt, if everyone jumps off a bridge, are you going to jump too? Of course you should add salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoghat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Chicken Kiev is so so good!! Have made it for over 40 years, and never tire of it. It's a delightful "company" dish! But please, use real garlic, not garlic powder. It's easy and tastes so much better! With real garlic, this would be 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
4.5 stars. First time with this particular recipe. Followed both the original recipe and several of the suggestions offered in the reviews. These included: adding more dill, more garlic and added cheese---babybel bonbel (those little wrapped round cheeses). I found making more butter mixture and cutting them into very small pieces made it much easy to roll the chicken---same for the cheese. Cooking string helped keeped things together better than toothpix. Try adding a little of the dill and parsley mixture inside the chicken before rolling it up. Served with seasoned broccoli rice florets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Meyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This does take time. . . and is in my opinion tough. . however that being said it is not impossible to pull off. A few things, make sure your oil isn't too HOT! my poor guys burned in a minute. . .still good but not cooked and they had to be finished in the oven. Second, I would make a garlic sauce to go over them to save the flavor if your butter disappeared. Some salt wouldn't go astray in this dish. Basically don't expect to get it right first try. . .experiment lol And more dill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Chicken was very moist. I brinned it for 3 hours prior to preparation. Couldn't really taste the dill or the garlic - recommend using more of each and probably coating the outside just prior to the flour. Also I think cheese like fontina would be a great addition. I pre-softened the butter for 15 seconds in the microwave which helped blend the ingredients and shape it into the required rectangle. Also cooked in a pot instead of a pan. The oil was higher 2/3 up the rolled breasts and six minutes worked perfectly on both sides. Got a great brown this way as well. If you don't use cheese recommend a little salt. This dish has an excellent look just needs a little more flavor. I didn't use fresh dill (rather out of container) probably a mistake. I also might use boiled fresh garlic in the butter mixture next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Kiev

A classic and impressive chicken dish with a secret surprise inside.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States