Chicken Kathleen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
Overall we really enjoyed this recipe. I did season the chichen when I was cooking it and added melted garlic butter to the broccoli before essembling the casserole. Also, I will use less bread crumbs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
We have really enjoyed this recipe. My husband is a picky eater, so that says a lot. I used white rice as the only yellow rice I could find had spices in it which my taste buds tend to be sensitive to certain ones. I used italian seasoned bread crumbs, and will probably cut back on them next time as the topping was fairly salty. This is a definite keeper! Haven't tried it on any kids yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
Good taste. Could be easier in preparation by mixing everything except the bread crumbs and butter together and putting it in the pan. Sprinkle bread crumbs on top and dot with pieces of butter. Butter will melt as casserole bakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
Giving it three stars as it was a good base to work from but all the butter and can soup turned me off. My changes: Cooked one cup rice in chicken broth, made my own cream sauce (2tbl butter, 2tbl flour, one cup chicken broth, 1/2 cup milk, 1/2 cup half & half, 8 oz cheese, pepper, onion powder and garlic powder). Made 3/4 cup breadcrumbs from homemade italian croutons and skipped the butter and skipped greasing the pan. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
This is my husband's favorite thing for me to make, he has renamed it "Chicken Erika." He loves simple dishes like this, rice, chicken, broccoli, etc and especially the breadcrumbs. Me, I like things to be "kicked up" a little more but if he'll eat non-processed foods this way then I'm happy to do it. I do use "healthier" canned soup mixes for this, and sometimes use low-fat crushed ritz instead of the breadcrumbs. Not sure that it helps with the fat/sodium content all that much, but whatever. A good homecooked meal can't be all bad. He loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Made this for grandson's 1st birthday party and everyone raved! Made a few changes recommended by others. Seasoned the chicken while I cooked it with poultry seasoning and lemon pepper. Used only 3 cans of soup (broccoli and cheese and cream of chicken). Mixed everything together (inc. cheese) before I put bread crumbs on top (only 3 cups). Easy, simple and very tasty. Thanks for the recipe. It was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2000
Absolutely wonderful!! Our daughter fixed this for us the other evening and everyone just loved it! She did not have any bread crumbs on hand, so substituted seasoned croutons sprinkled over the top. It was GREAT!!! We were all wanting the leftovers.....of which there were NONE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I used leftover jasmine rice instead of yellow, substituted a can of cheddar soup in place of one of the cans of cream of chicken, and omitted the bread crumb topping. The casserole wasn't terribly exciting, but a good, solid, meal with plenty of leftovers for my husband and me and it should reheat well. This dish is a great way to use up leftover rice and/or chicken. Or, if you left out the chicken and added a second bag of broccoli, it would make a nice side dish. I will make this again, but not all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2004
I cook for a house of 12 college students and they raved about this recipe... I loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
AMAZING....DIDN'T CHANGE A THING!! My sixteen year old son couldn't get enough! This is for sure a do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saginaw, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Oh-So-Good Chicken

This cheesy chicken and rice casserole stars salsa, sour cream, and mushrooms.

Garlic Cheddar Chicken

See how to make a simple, top-rated baked chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States