Chicken Jerusalem II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
We liked this one, the wine didn't have a strong flavor. A few changes...I cooked the chicken in a pan with olive oil and seasoned the chicken with salt, pepper, onion and garlic powder. I first sauted the onion and garlic in olive oil and then put in chicken broth and let it reduce, which took a while. The chicken breasts I used were pretty thick so the sauce had plenty of time to reduce. I also used milk instead of cream. What I did was in a separate sauce pan use 1 cup 2% milk and 1/4 cup butter then get it to a boil to melt the butter. Then I put it in a small food processor to emulsify it. Tasted good and I didn't have to go buy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
This was so good and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARDMORE1949

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Hazel Green, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
4*'s because I only made the sauce. (5*'s for the sauce). I also didn't follow the directions for the sauce, but kept the ingrediants as called for, except for reducing the wine to 1/2. I pan fried chicken breasts (pounded and breaded with crumbs/Parmesan cheese)then deglazed the pan with the wine. I had previously fried the onions,garlic, and mushrooms, and then added all the liquid. I put the artichokes in very last. Like others, my sauce didn't thicken, but it tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TORA.V

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
couldnt get the sauce to thicken but it was very tasty just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
The chicken was very tender and tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JKristen426

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Mixed reviews on this one. My Brother and son LOVED it. Husband was so so, and I just really wasn't impressed at all. Surprised me. I usually LOVE anything with artichokes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I realized I could offer a very important suggestion to those who had difficulty in getting their sauce to thicken and who did so by adding cornstarch. Please do not thicken with cornstarch! If you start the sauce well in advance and are patient, you will end up with something that is truly magnificent. By allowing enough time for this to reduce and thicken on its own it will become concentrated, producing a luxurious, rich, velvety and very flavorful sauce. Once the stock and wine have been reduced, add the cream and continue boiling. Also, rather than baking the chicken as directed, I cooked it in a skillet for more flavor and color (having started the sauce well in advance of the chicken). I dredged the chicken in flour, salt and pepper, then quickly browned it in olive oil. Added the mushrooms to the chicken, and then the artichokes (I used frozen) during the last few minutes. Meantime, the lovely cream sauce is boiling away and thickening in a separate saucepan! Once the sauce is thickened, add it to the pan with the chicken. This is a spectacular dish with an absolutely outstanding sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This recipe is great. The only changes I made was I brown the chicken in a skillet and then add the garlic and onion to the juice from the chicken. I also add the chicken to the stock and wine when reducing and it gives the chicken better flavor. Otherwise it is a great dish. My family loves it and asks me to make it at least once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
My daughter (BLUE4MYEYES) has made this for me several times because I absolutely love it! She adds a little cornstarch at the end and the sauce is perfect. Thanks for a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by garlicmakesitgood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
i loved this recipe! the sauce was thin, but i served the chicken over wild rice and it kept the sauce from spilling all over the plate; plus it gave the rice a fantastic flavor. i'll definitely add this recipe into the meal rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States