Chicken Jerusalem II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Sorry, nobody liked this. We found it much too salty, and the flavor was off. The only change I made was to leave out the artichoke hearts, because I forgot to get them while I was at the grocery. I'm wondering if it was something I did, because none of the ingredients are particularly salty (except the salt, obviously, but I omitted it), but I don't think I'll be trying it again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris(py)
Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Like the previous reviewer (Naples) said if you start the sauce well before starting the chicken and be patient it does form into this thick creamy sauce just like the recipe states. I have never reviewed anything before this, but it was just THAT good! I also pan fried the chicken to give it some color and texture before I finished this in the oven. I will be using this recipe regularly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for...except that I cut up the chicken into large bite sized pieces. The flavor of the artichokes is so delicate that I did add a finely chopped up white onion and a bit of seasoning salt and more pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammie Sharon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Eureka, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Never thought I'd get my husband to eat artichokes but even he loved this recipe! Wonderful, we will definitely make it again and again. I did change a few things since I had slightly different ingredients on hand. I used these substitutions and changes: - sliced turkey breast cutlets instead of chicken - a jar of sliced mushrooms instead of the fresh ones (would have been a little better with fresh though I think) - half-and-half instead of the cream which was just the perfect richness for us - 1/2 cup cider vinegar + 1/2 cup water instead of the white wine Finally, I added some dried rosemary to the sauce as well. Many people have discussed how the sauce doesn't "thicken". They are correct. It would be more appropriate in the recipe to not say "thicken" but instead it should say "reduced". And if you do boil it (rolling boil), then it definitely reduces after 20 minutes or so. At the point it is "reduced", there is still liquid, but it is much more concentrated and reduced. Personally, I wouldn't want to add cornstarch or flour or the consistency would be entirely different in this recipe. The reduction was the key for me. (But everyone likes different things.) :-) I served it over brown instant rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I made this but also omitted the artichokes. I sauted the bitesized cubes of chicken in olive oil and drained and set aside then sauted the onions and mushrooms in light coating of olive oil then added the browned chicken to the vegetables. This gave less liquid to have to work with. I also found after doing all this there was still too much liquid and still needed to thicken sauce with 1 TBS. corn starch. (The excess liquid is probably due to the moisture of the mushrooms combined with moist chicken. I did not use cream but used lowfat milk and 2 TBS lowfat cream cheese to give the same richness, and lower fat. RAVE REVIWS Just the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I thought this was excellent. Like just about everyone else, I changed but only one thing-didn't have artichokes so probably the taste was totally different. I used those frozen chicken thighs from Sams, browned them first, then put them into the chicken stock to cook. It was delicious, fast and easy! My kind of meal on a cool fall evening. Comfort food! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Great flavor! I used a bit more wine and minced garlic. Had to use cornstarch o thicken sauce. Perfect meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This wasn't bad, but it was pretty bland. I served this over chicken tossed with egg noodles. No complaints but no one raved or even had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
This was excellent - with a little help from Naples' review. The sauce does take a very long time to come together, but its delicious when it does. I served this with saffron rice as suggested by the submitter. Thanks for the recipe (and thank you Naples)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I love this recipe, and so does everyone I make it for! I crave it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States