Chicken Jerusalem II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I realized I could offer a very important suggestion to those who had difficulty in getting their sauce to thicken and who did so by adding cornstarch. Please do not thicken with cornstarch! If you start the sauce well in advance and are patient, you will end up with something that is truly magnificent. By allowing enough time for this to reduce and thicken on its own it will become concentrated, producing a luxurious, rich, velvety and very flavorful sauce. Once the stock and wine have been reduced, add the cream and continue boiling. Also, rather than baking the chicken as directed, I cooked it in a skillet for more flavor and color (having started the sauce well in advance of the chicken). I dredged the chicken in flour, salt and pepper, then quickly browned it in olive oil. Added the mushrooms to the chicken, and then the artichokes (I used frozen) during the last few minutes. Meantime, the lovely cream sauce is boiling away and thickening in a separate saucepan! Once the sauce is thickened, add it to the pan with the chicken. This is a spectacular dish with an absolutely outstanding sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
Delicious sauce. Per previous comments, I used marinated artichoke hearts. The sauce was extremely thin - I recommend thickening it with some cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
We liked this one, the wine didn't have a strong flavor. A few changes...I cooked the chicken in a pan with olive oil and seasoned the chicken with salt, pepper, onion and garlic powder. I first sauted the onion and garlic in olive oil and then put in chicken broth and let it reduce, which took a while. The chicken breasts I used were pretty thick so the sauce had plenty of time to reduce. I also used milk instead of cream. What I did was in a separate sauce pan use 1 cup 2% milk and 1/4 cup butter then get it to a boil to melt the butter. Then I put it in a small food processor to emulsify it. Tasted good and I didn't have to go buy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
I've made this twice and both times I had trouble getting the sauce to thicken properly - add a little corn starch and keep cooking it... it eventually gets there when you take it off the heat. Very good though. I used marinated artichoke hearts and poured the oil from those in with the baking chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Like the previous reviewer (Naples) said if you start the sauce well before starting the chicken and be patient it does form into this thick creamy sauce just like the recipe states. I have never reviewed anything before this, but it was just THAT good! I also pan fried the chicken to give it some color and texture before I finished this in the oven. I will be using this recipe regularly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Absolutely delicious. And easy, easy, easy. I used those idividually frozen chicken breasts for simplicity, and since they had to bake a bit longer, I had plenty of time to let the chicken stock reduce. Take the time to reduce, folks.... that's what gives your kitchen/house time to start smelling so great! I read one review about it being 'too salty,' but since this recipe only calls for 'salt to taste,' how can you blame the recipe? Next time, I will use half-and-half instead of heavy cream. I used one small boiler onion (because I don't like having stinky half-onions hanging around my house), and when I added the cream, I added one chopped fresh tomato for color. A little fresh spinach might be yummy too. Yum Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
4*'s because I only made the sauce. (5*'s for the sauce). I also didn't follow the directions for the sauce, but kept the ingrediants as called for, except for reducing the wine to 1/2. I pan fried chicken breasts (pounded and breaded with crumbs/Parmesan cheese)then deglazed the pan with the wine. I had previously fried the onions,garlic, and mushrooms, and then added all the liquid. I put the artichokes in very last. Like others, my sauce didn't thicken, but it tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TORA.V

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
This is PERFECT for entertaining, and very easy to make. I agree that cornstarch is a good choice at the end, and I end up cooking it longer, as well, to thicken the sauce a bit. I also use marinated artichoke hearts, because I love their flavor. This is a fantastic recipe, and everyone that I have made it for raves!!! Thank you so much, Kim!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
Excellent flavor and pretty presentation! This is a definite keeper. My family loved it. I won't change a thing. Some reviewers suggested using marinated hearts, but I feel they may change the flavor and make it a bit oily. Its perfect as is!Thanks for sharing,Kim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I was actually disappointed with this dish - I love all of the ingredients so I thought it couldn't be bad. However I found the wine to lose it's flavor and overall it was boring. Not hard to make, and I was really looking forward to it - I served it with some Jasmine rice and braised brussel sprouts. The veggies were the winner for my family...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States