Chicken Jambalaya I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2001
Thank You..Thank You...Thank You. I have found so many "Jambalaya" recipes that add really strange and non traditional ingredients and then forget what makes Jambalaya what it is...the spices. This is the first recipe in a long time that I have seen that remembers to put Thyme in the list of ingredients. It turned out wonderful! Hats off to you Suzanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
very yummy recipe. try adding smoked sausage like keilbasa and/ or red beans, i did and it was excellent, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Yummy. The first time I made this recipe I followed it exactly and it was good. I made it again tonight and instead of using white rice I used the small 5 oz. package of Vigo yellow rice and the whole 14 ounces of chicken broth. Very moist and much tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
I invited a guest to my home for dinner who was from Alabama. This was the request for dinner and I had never made it before. Allrecipes to the rescue. My guest had 2 servings and said it tasted like Mom's! I did add about a pound of raw shrimp just before serving as well as a broiled, hot sausage. It was great! Thanks. CS, Kaysville, Utah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
First time making Jambalaya...Ive never even tried it because I dont like seafood. I made this last night for some friends and everyone scraped their bowls clean. My boyfriend doesnt care for pork so I just made this with the chicken, cooked the rice before which worked well, also added some cayenne and garlic. Not too hot but hot enough...I had to ask my friend whom is Creole if it looked/tasted right...he gave me the thumbs up!! Will definitely make this again, everyone was upset there werent any leftovers even though I doubled the recipe. So quick and easy to make!! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kreativess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
This recipe was okay, not a big fan of spicy food so I ommitted the hot sauce, used red pepper flakes instead. I would recommend more thyme and basil to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
Very good! Quick to make, and very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
i added fresh garlic and regular salt, omitted the celery, and used crushed peppers instead of hot sauce---i also used rotel's diced tomatoes and jalepenos instead of just tomatoes i cooked the chicken with the onions and bell pepper, omitted the celery and added a dash of creole seasoning very hot! everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
This is a quick, easy meal to make. I used shrimp & smoked sausage instead of the chicken. Since I used instant rice, I did reduce the broth (could use just water) to 2/3c also. Next time I'll try bacon grease instead of the butter. Served with cornbread, this meal was very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
Delicious! For those of us who like a little more kick to food, I recommend using diced tomatoes with jalapeño peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States