Chicken Jambalaya I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This was really good! It was fast and easy to prepare and it tasted delicious! I'm not sure about its "authenticity," but I will definitely make it again; I even emailed the recipe to all my friends. I especially like it because it didn't make a HUGE quantity- which is great for single folks like me. I like spice, so I doubled the amount of hot sauce - next time I would probably even use more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Harmony, Indiana, USA
Living In: Andersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
So great and super easy. I was cooking for a lot of people and wanted to use a limited amount of meat to cut costs. I used one chicken breast cubed and one link of smoked turkey sausage. I also used canned tomatoes with bell peppers and onions (but I still added the fresh veggies too) I threw the meat in with the veggies to brown and used olive oil instead of butter and fresh garlic instead of garlic salt. I couldnt add the hot sauce because thier were children eating but put some Franks on top in my bowl and it was AMAZING. Everyone had seconds. Even my friends two year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Very good! If you do not have hot pepper sauce on hand, here's what to try. Add 3 tbsp of vinegar, 1-2 tbsp of soy sauce, garlic, and ground cayenne pepper. If you're brave add some actual hot peppers. I had a wee Thai chili on hand and threw that in there, which was overkill. My Jambalaya is really good, but pretty much ridiculously spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DannyBoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I too doubted this recipe based on the ingredients but it's excellent and surprisingly easy and fast. I used fresh garlic and fresh grape tomatoes (they explode as the heat - yummy). I also left out the celery since I didn't have any. I had some frozen chicken tenders so I just threw them in with the rice (still frozen) and they all finished cooking together. I didn't add the hot sauce because of the kids. I served theirs with ketchup and ours with hot sauce. Everyone loved it - even the two year old. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I didn't expect much from reading the ingredients, but it turned out really yummy. I cooked bacon first, removed the bacon and cooked the veggies in the bacon grease. I added the bacon back in at the end. I also used fresh tomatoes rather than canned tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Good recipe! My husband REALLY liked it... I on the other hand didn't care too much about the canned tomatoes, but that's just personal preference. Next time i'll try fresh tomatoes... thanks for a good & easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari-Mar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hayward, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Very good,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Fantastic! And easy! My husband has been asking me to make jambalaya since having it at a restaurant a few weeks ago. I was excited to find this version that did not include andouille.I sauteed the chicken in the skillet and then removed it and sauteed the veggies. I also added the seasoning with the veggies as they softened.It had a kick but was exactly as I would have expected of jambalaya. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This was so easy! My whole family loved it. There were't any leftovers. I did keep out the hot sauce and just put it on mine. I would make this again and bring it to a pot luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
Delicious ... I added a small can of tomato paste, about 1/4 cup white vinegar, 4 small chopped green chilies and some sliced baby zuchini. One piece of advice: parboil the rice while you chop the veggies, otherwise it can take a REALLY long time to cook, especially at high altitudes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArlingtonDude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States