Chicken Jambalaya I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This is the first time I've ever made Jambalaya and it turned out pretty good! For the chicken I diced 3 chicken breasts and seasoned them with "Creole Seasoning Blend" from this site. I then sauteed them in olive oil and then set them aside to add later. I like to use brown rice, so I baked it in the oven with chicken broth and added the finished rice to the tomato mixture along with the chicken and let it all simmer together for about 10 minutes. Easy, healthy and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Great! I made this last night and followed the directions almost exactly- except that I used canned tomatoes that come with onions, celery, and green pepper... I used the whole can of chicken broth [which is only slightly more than the 1 1/2 cups the recipe calls for]... I used red pepper flakes instead of hot sauce like another reviewer suggested... and to save time, I used Tyson's premium canned chicken and used 2 cans of that- which I think is slightly more than the 2 cups of chicken the recipe calls for. When I turned the heat down after I brought it to a boil, I brought it down to medium. At first, I stirred it fairly frequently, but in the last 10 minutes, I didn't stir it much at all. A little of it stuck to the bottom, so next time I'll either make sure to stir it more often or possibly turn the heat down more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
YUM YUM YUM! This is a staple at our house! We skip the celery, because we never have it on hand, and also the thyme for the same reason. Although this last time I actually DID have thyme, and we decided we like it better without. I sometimes add extra veggies (peas or cauliflower) to replace the celery. It is good with or without! Otherwise, I follow the recipe exactly and this is one yummy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
It was quick and easy:)The taste was nothing to special, but I would make this again, I love recipes that don't have to many 'different' ingredients, this ones a keeper. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
If you've got lots of stuff and little time, this recipe is for you! I didn't have bell peppers, so I used baby carrots. I didn't have a 14.5 oz. can of tomatoes, but I did have two gargantuan tomatoes from the garden. Threw it all together. Cooked one cubed chicken breast in Chef Prudhomme's cajun spices (just a pinch) and, I kid you not, this was ready in under 30 minutes! Do yourself a favor! Double the servings and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
quick and delicious! my wife loved it. thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I've never had jambalaya before, so I wasn't sure what to expect. I read the other reviews and this looked like the one to try. I loved it! I always put my own personal touches on recipes and this was no exception. I used a whole chopped onion and the entire can (14.5 ounces) of chicken broth. I also added chopped smoked beef sausage and cooked with the tomatoes, rice and other ingredients. After the rice was tender, I added the chicken which I had boiled and shredded. It was great. Even my brother, who is a picky eater, ate two bowls. Thank you, Suzanne, for a great recipe. It's going in my collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gracey
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
After trying this recipe, we have a new favourite in our house! It was delicious. We added one Italian sausage, and we couldn't get enough! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I made a vegetarian version of this with seitan, and it turned out delicious. I will certainly be using this recipe again. I was out of celery, so I substituted mixed vegetables and a liberal sprinkling of celery seed, which turned out very well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States