Chicken Jambalaya I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Me and my husband enjoyed this meal. He doesn't normally like Jambalaya, but he liked this. I substituted red pepper for green pepper, and added a lot more of the vegetables. A 1/3 and 1/4 a cup didn't seem like enough. I also cooked my rice seperatly instead of cooking it in the skillet. Decreased the amount of chicken broth accordingly. Overall a good meal, and will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
I loved this dish. Get home from work and you still have time to make this. One thing I added was a tinsy little bit of cajun pepper. Nice and spicy - just make sure if you do that, you have a glass of water handy when you eat it. I've made this dish a couple of times now and you can add or delete ingredients as you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
I found this recipe very easy to make and to substitute some of the ingredients with others. It immediately became a family favorite that no one in my family can get over, especially when Iadded some Hot Cajun Seasoning to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
It was good. I'm not a spice person, so having it once was great, but I will need a week before I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Abbitt

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Combes, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
Simple to prepare but it is lacking some flavor compared to the other jambalayas I make. Instead of garlic salt, I used seasoning salt and fresh minced garlic. Also, I cooked the rice separately and added in the end. I also added additional creole seasoning and may go ahead and put andouille sausage in as well. I think this would be good for kids because it isn't that spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2004
The rice took forever to cook. I may go against all that is in me and use minute rice next time. I used sausage instead of chicken. My husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
This recipe was very good and fairly easy to make. I do not think I can say it is a true jambalaya . . . being that it has tomatoes it is more like a gumbo, but it is very good nonetheless. I didn't have any diced tomatoes so I substituted stewed tomatoes. Also didn't have hot sauce so instead I used cajun seasoning and red pepper flakes. I also found that i needed just a bit more liquid than was specified for the recipe, so I added a bit of white wine to the chicken broth. I also use geen onions or leeks when I have them on hand. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESSIELTTE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
This recipe was GREAT! Very quick and easy to make. I used fresh tomatoes instead of canned, jalepenos and tobasco. We loved it and plan to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
This is a quick, easy meal to make. I used shrimp & smoked sausage instead of the chicken. Since I used instant rice, I did reduce the broth (could use just water) to 2/3c also. Next time I'll try bacon grease instead of the butter. Served with cornbread, this meal was very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
I invited a guest to my home for dinner who was from Alabama. This was the request for dinner and I had never made it before. Allrecipes to the rescue. My guest had 2 servings and said it tasted like Mom's! I did add about a pound of raw shrimp just before serving as well as a broiled, hot sausage. It was great! Thanks. CS, Kaysville, Utah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States