Chicken Jambalaya I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Me and my husband enjoyed this meal. He doesn't normally like Jambalaya, but he liked this. I substituted red pepper for green pepper, and added a lot more of the vegetables. A 1/3 and 1/4 a cup didn't seem like enough. I also cooked my rice seperatly instead of cooking it in the skillet. Decreased the amount of chicken broth accordingly. Overall a good meal, and will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
I loved this dish. Get home from work and you still have time to make this. One thing I added was a tinsy little bit of cajun pepper. Nice and spicy - just make sure if you do that, you have a glass of water handy when you eat it. I've made this dish a couple of times now and you can add or delete ingredients as you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
I found this recipe very easy to make and to substitute some of the ingredients with others. It immediately became a family favorite that no one in my family can get over, especially when Iadded some Hot Cajun Seasoning to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
It was good. I'm not a spice person, so having it once was great, but I will need a week before I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Abbitt

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Combes, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
Simple to prepare but it is lacking some flavor compared to the other jambalayas I make. Instead of garlic salt, I used seasoning salt and fresh minced garlic. Also, I cooked the rice separately and added in the end. I also added additional creole seasoning and may go ahead and put andouille sausage in as well. I think this would be good for kids because it isn't that spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2004
The rice took forever to cook. I may go against all that is in me and use minute rice next time. I used sausage instead of chicken. My husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
This recipe was very good and fairly easy to make. I do not think I can say it is a true jambalaya . . . being that it has tomatoes it is more like a gumbo, but it is very good nonetheless. I didn't have any diced tomatoes so I substituted stewed tomatoes. Also didn't have hot sauce so instead I used cajun seasoning and red pepper flakes. I also found that i needed just a bit more liquid than was specified for the recipe, so I added a bit of white wine to the chicken broth. I also use geen onions or leeks when I have them on hand. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESSIELTTE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
This recipe was GREAT! Very quick and easy to make. I used fresh tomatoes instead of canned, jalepenos and tobasco. We loved it and plan to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
This is a quick, easy meal to make. I used shrimp & smoked sausage instead of the chicken. Since I used instant rice, I did reduce the broth (could use just water) to 2/3c also. Next time I'll try bacon grease instead of the butter. Served with cornbread, this meal was very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
I invited a guest to my home for dinner who was from Alabama. This was the request for dinner and I had never made it before. Allrecipes to the rescue. My guest had 2 servings and said it tasted like Mom's! I did add about a pound of raw shrimp just before serving as well as a broiled, hot sausage. It was great! Thanks. CS, Kaysville, Utah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States