Chicken Jalfrezi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
I heated this up at work and customers in the front were remarking "what smells so good". This is a delish dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
This was very good. I did not add the cilantro, but it was still great. I mixed chicken breast in with the thighs since they seem less fatty. Also increased the chili powder by 1/2 teaspoon. Could have probably added a bit more. We had this over basmati rice and with naan bread on the side. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
Just now enjoying the leftovers of this savory chicken curry. I made this exactly as written, but used chicken breasts (on hand). My husband enjoyed it as well. If you like Mexican food, or Oriental food, you will enjoy this as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHOGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
Excellent recipe! You would expect with all those spices that it would be too strongly flavored, but it really isn't. I added all the spices with the onion at the beginning because I didn't like the raw flavor of them added later. The cilantro, however, as a fresh herb, *must* wait until the end or it disappears. You can make it all ahead except for the cilantro--add that when you reheat it. It tastes great over steamed brown basmati rice. Thanks for a keeper of a recipe, Alia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
Excellent recipe. Very good with naan. The cilantro was a nice touch. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
Very easy and family loved this. I will probably add potatoes next time and use a crockpot to stretch it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melissa, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2003
I'm always a little nervous when I try different ethic cuisine b/c normally it tastes nothing like what I've had in restaurants and then I'm disappointed. But this recipe IS IT! Spectacular results. My husband is still raving about this one. Thanks Alia! The only thing I did differently was I added a green pepper, chopped, in with the canned tomatoes. Terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Media, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
The spices are very similar to Indian cooking, but this dish had it's own destinctive taste. I'd never had anything Pakistani. I'm really glad I tried this recipe. I do like things kind of spicy, so I added 1/4t. cayenne like another reviewer. Even more would be okay depending on how hot you like it. Thanks for this wonderful recipe Alia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
Thank you and your mother for this recipe. I especially liked the chicken cooked in tomotos and the aroma was fantastic. My boyfriend and I loved it and will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
Absolutely loved this recipe! Had Pakistani food in Washington D.C. wasn't sure how this recipe would compare and it was BETTER than what I was served there. Had friends over for dinner who could not stop talking about how good it was. Served with Naan and it was the best. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States