Chicken Jalfrezi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
I find this recipe rather strange.In England,a Chicken Jalfrezi is a firey dish made with green and red peppers and plenty of chillies/chilli powder.Maybe us English have just butchered the original recipe,(Indians living in Britain have created new curry dishes to suit our palates that are unheard of back in India),but i advise you to add bell-peppers to this recipe as its not only more health,but adds fantastic flavour to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
everyone loved it. if you want to make your own ghee: 1. melt unsalted butter in stainless steel pot at very low heat. 2. once melted, slightly increase heat. 3. decrease slightly if it starts to smoke or show signs of scorching. do not let it burn. 4. remain at this point for about an hour, checking often but not disturbing. 5. after an hour let cool for about 15 minutes. 6. carefully skim foam and floating substances from top with spoon. 7. filter remaining clear liquid into clean jar. use cheesecloth, coffee filter, or paper towel. 8. cover and store in a cool place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
Thanks for this recipe! Quite simple to prepare and huge on taste. I was surprized how great it turned out...I used chicken with bones (backs & legs) and skin and omitted the ghee. Would probably be healthier, tastier and nicer to eat if I had boneless chicken thighs. This is one of my new favorites even though I used the wrong kind of chicken. Yum! Just an FYI/edit - Since I adore this recipe so much I made it again the next week but had no cilantro...it wasn't nearly as good! I'm not a huge fan of cilantro but it is really essential!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
This is a wonderful recipe! That said, I have to admit that I did the traditional - cook all the spices together in the oil first. This method seems to give the food more flavour; plus, I don't like the taste of raw spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tripoli, North, Lebanon
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Oh my this is sooooo good. I used 1 large (28oz) can of drained chickpeas instead of the chicken and served it over rice. Even my teen liked it. It smells great when it's cooking and it was so easy to make. I will be making this again. GREAT vegetarian meal with the chickpeas. UPDATE: I had some Jalfrezi at a local Indian restaurant, it wasn't as good as this recipe. This one rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Yummy! I converted this to a crock pot recipe. I put all ingredients in the crock pot, except the oil and cilantro. It came out great. I got a thumbs up from my husband and two year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keilypie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
this is a fantastic recipe!!! the only thing i did different is cubed 2lbs of boneless skinless chicken breasts and added 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne. it was still a bit mild for my taste so next time i'll try 1/2... but what a recipie!!! give my loves and thanks to mama! i served it over my version of saffron rice. i've posted the recipe. enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
very delicious recipe. my grandfather was pakistani and i love the curried chicken he taught our family 2 make. only thing is i have always been taught to fry the spices first in oil, raw spices dont taste as well. this was also my first experience with ghee. as soon as i added it, i saw that it is what makes the difference in the texture of the curry i make and the curry i eat in indian restaurants. unfortunately it came out too salty (i didnt read the reviews first) and the next time i make it i will cut back on the ghee. it came out way too greasy for me. I also microwave cooked some frozen green beans and added them at the end and served it over rice. one good thing is my husband loved it and he generally dislikes chicken curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Wonderful flavors! I used chicken breasts instead of thighs and it was great. Also omitted the ghee. Prep was not difficult, but took a little time. My family said it's definitely a "keeper!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PALMETTOMEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Very nice recipe. I tried it a few days ago, using more chicken than listed and it was excellent, I made more than needed aswell so that there would be leftovers. The next day I added some stock to it and reheated it for about an hour, it tasted even better than before! I would highly recommend leaving it a day or 2 before eating, it improves the flavour greatly. When I next use this I will try it with a bit more spice however, although it is extremely nice it isnt as spicy as I thought it would be. Definately worth trying, but if you like your curries spicy add in more chilli. 5 stars. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States